Skip to content
Think About Your Favorite Movies, Then Read This

So people usually have this crazy reaction when they hear that I don’t particularly like watching movies. They almost seem offended when they find out that I haven’t seen Star Wars or Harry Potter films. It isn’t that I don’t like movies.. I just don’t like watching them.

Now you get it?

I didn’t think so. Let’s just pretend I made a very compelling argument right there and pretend to be convinced.

I really like stories, in books and in conversations. I like them in movies too, but I watch movies in pieces because it is difficult for me to be guided entirely by a screen where my mind has no wiggle room. Explosion here, the sound of steps in an empty hallway there. I would know exactly what a character’s voice sounds like and that’s weird to me. No mystery, no questioning. Were stories really meant to be told like that?

Anyway, I would like to welcome myself back into this blog.

*applause*

Alright. Cool.

The question of the day is:

If you were stranded on an island, and you could bring with you 5 movies, which movies would they be?

10 Comments
  1. Angie West #

    Twilight. But in 5 different languages so I could feel like I was doing something productive with my time.

    July 23, 2014
    • Angie, that is a great idea! Wow.

      But Twilight…? Haha

      July 23, 2014
      • Angie West #

        Well now you all know my dirty little secret. Haha. But now that I think about it, watching one movie all the time could get weird. At some point, I’d probably end up drawing taylor lautners face on a rock and talking to myself.

        July 23, 2014
  2. I’ll bring five DVD’s of ‘Erin Brockovich’.

    Nah! Kidding. But that’s just to emphasize how much I like that movie.
    So back to the point. I’ll bring ‘Erin Brockovich’, ‘The Help’, ‘What Happens In Vegas’, ‘A Separation’, ‘The Conjuring’ (Just to lose sleep so that I don’t become prey to some animal!)

    Now I know you said you don’t really like watching movies but still, which movies would you bring along?

    Aaaannd, welcome back! 😀

    July 23, 2014
    • The Conjuring? Whoa. Creepy.

      Thanks for sharing, aaannd thanks. To be honest, I’m not sure I’ve seen enough movies to come up with a list, haha. But since I HAVE to:

      1. Mary and Max
      2. Goodwill Hunting
      3. Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
      4. The Nightmare Before Christmas
      5. Saving Private Ryan

      July 23, 2014
      • ‘Mary and Max’ – Yes!
        That is such a sweet movie. The concept of pen-pals has always been dear to me and that movie was so beautiful! Wise to have made it No. 1, Edwin. Haha!

        July 24, 2014
    • Angie West #

      I’m going with you–good choices!

      July 23, 2014
      • Thank you, Angie.
        Find me on the island, eh? I’m on the hammock tied to the tallest coconut trees. 🙂

        July 24, 2014
        • Angie West #

          You bring the Julia Roberts movies, I’ll bring the booze!

          July 24, 2014
          • Aye!

            July 25, 2014

Comments are closed.

