Skip to content
When someone cancels plans that you didn’t want to have in the first place

20140112-230909.jpg

It is almost time for me to move again to Northern California. I have a new place up there, and it came just in time to avoid the coldness up there. Here in LA we had a 79 degree F Christmas Day, while NorCal suffered a 28 degree morning.

But with little time to meet up with friends before I leave again, there are lots of plans flying around. From early morning hikes, to new coffee shop visits. But every once in a while, I lose the drive to want to leave the house.

Do any of you guys get that too?

Like I could just sleep all day, without changing out of my pajamas, making trips to the fridge every time commercials come on television.

Usually the friend will send a text, asking at what time we should meet.. and I refuse to reply right away. So I stare at my phone for a good 10 minutes, wondering if there is anything I could say that would get me out of it. I almost wish for a secret code word that would be a major hint to someone that says “nope, I don’t wanna go but I’ll do it because I’ll feel bad if I cancel”.

Then I feel minor anxiety because I’m not returning the text and the friend has decided to call. It is ringing. Blah! Oh well, let’s just do this…

But every once in a while, there is luck floating in the air.

“Hey man. I won’t be able to make it”

“Oh, that’s too bad. Next time, I guess.”

“Sorry”

“No worries, dude.”

Seriously, no worries.

