Skip to content
Laughing at an inside joke (that you don’t know about)

Laughing is the best therapy. If you laugh hard enough it can also be a workout. And if you laugh harder-er, it can even induce vomiting for those occasions when you swallow something poisonous and the label says it is ok to do so.

That's weird humor.

There are certain moments when you absolutely shouldn't laugh, otherwise you are jerk and you suck.

Moments When You Should Not Laugh

  • When old people fall down in a comical manner, or when they fart.
  • At an elevator (just shut up and look at the numbers), or during that silent moment before the movie comes on at the movie theater. Pretty much everywhere when silence is expected of you.
  • When a police officer is asking you stuff when you get pulled over.
  • When someone is really angry. Like when you piss off your mom.
  • When your girlfriend is frustrated over something you did and mentions the phrase “…taking/take me seriously”
  • When you didn't hear what a person said and don't want to ask them to repeat themselves so you assume they said a joke. It may not be a joke.
By far, one of the most awkward laughing moments comes from when you are with a few people and they say a joke to each other and they all laugh so you feel like you should also laugh… Only to later find out that it was an inside joke and there is no way that you could've gotten it anyway. If the people are nice, they may explain it to you. If they're mean they may ask you if you get it and put you on the spot to try to explain it. That's pretty messed up.

Have you ever laughed when you weren't supposed to do so?

4 Comments
  1. It’s also awkward when you don’t laugh when expected. Someone tells a joke, everyone else laughs, but you just didn’t find it funny. Do you do a fake laugh just to fit in? Do you try to look like you’re not really part of that group? Or just brazen it out and if anyone comments just say you’ve heard it before?

    What if, even worse, it’s a joke you disapprove of? You feel disturbed, slightly disgusted that your friend can tell this joke and your other friends find it funny, or pretend to. Do you explain why or just slink away?

    September 19, 2013
  2. It happens to me often to find myself in uncontrollable laughter while the situation doesn’t require so; such as someone’s death (true story!) . . . I try my best to control it though. I also have this thing where I laugh about laughing after everyone else is done laughing and I keep going silent for two seconds then starting all over again.

    Like the comment above me says, it’s awkward when you are expected to laugh and you don’t. When I hear a joke that’s not funny, I either pretend to laugh a little (depending on the person who said it, because some older people get pissed if you don’t) or I just say that I don’t find it funny. Sometimes I do neither and just sit there not laughing or dong anything.

    September 19, 2013
  3. Oh I SO relate to this!
    I feel like laughing, no, actually I LAUGH when I am the bearer of news that can make the receiver cry. That’s just how I’m wired! And believe me, it doesn’t get more awkward. I mean, I don’t laugh at how the other person takes the news, I laugh because the news is SAD. Make sense?
    Like, I remember announcing to my class that our teacher had expired. I loved her! I mean she was the best teacher I’ve come across so far… and even so, while declaring the news, I had a smile on my face!!
    Don’t judge – its involuntary and a-w-k-w-a-r-d. Like Hell.

    September 19, 2013
    • Oh and do I need to tell you about the class’ reaction? About how their faces showed the exact opposite emotions than mine? About how they looked at me?
      Ugh.

      September 19, 2013

Comments are closed.

