Skip to content
When you really want someone to shut up but have to be polite

There are some people who really like to talk.

And I mean REALLY talk. Some do it because they are nervous, and others are just plain talkers.

I run into a few of these people about once a day. They tell you about their day, and about their life.. then make a comment about how they’re taking up your time, they apologize, and then keep talking.

y-u-keep-talking

For women in the dating world:

Imagine yourself sitting at a bar, with a couple of your girlfriends.. trying to act all cool. Suddenly someone takes the bait and he begins to approach you. Uh oh. Here he comes.

“Hello, I’m Jeff.”

“Melissa. Nice to meet you.”

“How is your evening going?”

“It’s going well, thank you.”

“Same for me, a couple of my friends had a blah blah blah…” and he goes on and on about people you don’t know doing things you don’t care about.

So he keeps talking and talking and you just sit there,  smiling, looking away every once in a while hoping that he gets the message –but no luck. What do you do? Pretend to get a phone call? Say you need to go to the restroom? …yawn?

For men in the dating world:

Well, let us be honest here.. you probably think the date is going well if she keeps talking.

Haha.

I don’t know. Sometimes I just wish I could leave the person talking by themselves. How many times have you been on a phone call and literally put the phone down, go pee or make yourself a sandwich, and then pick up the phone again only to discover that the person still hasn’t stopped talking?

How do you let them know?

8 Comments
  1. Oh I don’t know… how about this:
    XYZ is talking to you and after 30 min of blah he says, “Oh its your birthday today, isn’t it?” You smile and nod. He says, “Oh Cool! HAAAPPYYY BIRTHDAY!!” (For some reason, these people are always full of beans). You grin and say, “Same to you!”
    Now either you really weren’t listening or either you did it deliberately to flash the message in neon red. Either way, do you think this will silence them?
    In my case, I honestly don’t know. I’ve never been across many chatter-boxes or I just haven’t been a good listener. I’d prefer the former. 😛

    And that phone thing – negative.

    July 22, 2013
    • Now that’s super awkward. Most of the time people STILL don’t get it even when they know for sure that you want them to be quiet already hahahahahahahahah

      July 23, 2013
  2. Some of the worst times in my life have been people talking to me for too long. One memorable and very cringe-worthy moment was listening to a coworker talk about tree trimming for 35 minutes.
    And being a girl, and word vomiter. When I’m really nervous on dates I will talk about anything. Once I told a date I really liked when straws are bendy because he hadn’t said anything for what seemed like an eternity.

    Oh the awkward.

    July 22, 2013
    • Oh tree trimming. That’s an interesting topic… just wondering, is there a lot to it? It’s basically a tree haircut. lol

      July 23, 2013
  3. I always say I need to study for a test tomorrow. Though I can’t always give that excuse.

    July 22, 2013
  4. I’ve been having this problem with random people I encounter on the train. I never know how to hint to them that I didn’t ask for and am not interested in this conversation. It’s especially annoying when they’re talking loud for the whole train car to hear..ugh.

    July 24, 2013
  5. Putter Bunny #

    I’ve had this happen to me frequently on the buses here. I just tell them flat out. “I don’t feel like talking, so let me read my book/listen to my music. Thanks.”

    July 31, 2013
  6. i have a friend like this hes a pal of mine but I swear he can talk the day away I try to give hints or hope something comes up but nothing and usually I only get one word in “Yeah.” and he’ll just start blabbering some more non stop some times I seriously regret having conversations with him cause their are times i seriously get so bored i just block him out!

    September 15, 2013

Comments are closed.

