Skip to content
How to Act Like Yourself Around Your Crush

150. Trying to act cool around someone you like

You hear about this all over the place: When you tell a couple of friends that you have a huge crush on some girl, and then they try to leave you two alone, and suddenly their new life goal is to make it awkward for you every time she’s around.

Like if she comes by and sits next to you, everyone suddenly starts looking at you two. As if a rainbow is going to show up above both of you out of nowhere.

Of COURSE it is difficult to act like yourself around your crush, so here are some tips to follow:

1. Don’t tell the whole world about it, at least not right away. They will make it awkward for you and for the other person. Guaranteed. Even if they don’t do it directly, you’re bound to become more self-conscious. That leads to awkwardness.

2. Stop talking so much. Enough said.

3. If you’re acting too nervous, take a break. Tell him/her that you have to use the restroom, have to answer a phone call, or that you need to feed your Tamagotchi really quick. Anything to get you out of there to give you about 45 seconds to regroup and calm down.

4. Be yourself. Unless you kinda suck. Most people don’t, so you’re most likely clear and are OK with just being yourself. You want this person to like you for who you are, right?

Things get pretty uncomfortable around that one special person:

Suddenly your planned conversations fail right after saying “Hello,” and other times you can’t keep your voice from cracking, or acting shaky and nervous. Perhaps you find yourself saying “me too” way too often, or you act so strange that the other person ends up asking you if you’re OK.

Anyone been in a situation like that? What would your advice be?

9 Comments
  1. Ah , tamagachi ! Ha! And all of my friends were making fun of me for being lame .

    This sounds ironic, but after I’ve liked someone for awhile, I prefer to straight up tell them, that way I do t even need a poor excuse to talk to them anymore. Even better, all my stupidity is explained thereafter.

    June 17, 2013
    • Brave woman! How the heck do you do it?

      June 17, 2013
      • Well I guess being female and confessing just short of ditzy is considered acceptable. Thanks gentlemen for overlooking that (‘: Life’s just full of double standards after all.

        June 17, 2013
  2. anonymousy #

    Ha, I have a similar blog post planned for this week (I’ll take a different angle on it though). I’ve got a crush on a bartender and it seemed pretty obvious that everybody that worked in the bar knew I was there to flirt w/ him. Everyone kept staring! They did not make it easy for us to have a casual conversation!

    June 17, 2013
    • Ooooh… sounds like an interesting adventure. People make it really awkward huh. Does he know?

      June 17, 2013
      • anonymousy #

        Ha, I have no clue if he knows. He has always seemed a little shy, so it’s hard to tell, but I wonder if he seemed extra shy because one of his coworkers told him “Hey that girl over thee likes you.” Ugh! People! “There’s a reason why animals don’t mate in captivity!”

        June 17, 2013
  3. Okay. I already have realized that I am not “cool”, but I’m fun enough to pull off quirky nerdy.
    However, there is something inside of me when I’m near someone I find attractive that turns me into a complete fool.
    I stammer, forget words, turn red, trip… or even choke on water. I am pretty much what every dude is not into outside of a Drew Barrymore romantic comedy 🙂
    Why is it so difficult?!?!

    June 18, 2013
  4. I would be so nervous around my crushes that I would act more cold so I didn’t come across as a love-lorn puppy-dog. Which made conversation difficult.

    I would try to get them to be at a party where I had a lot of friends, because my friends would make me feel confident and comfortable and then I could check in with the crush back and forth and not look too interested. That’s my tip 😉

    Dude, spot on w/ the Tamagotchi. I literally found one a friend had and fired up that sucker with batteries yesterday. No joke. They have an app for it on your iPhone too.

    June 20, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Crushing <333 | That Cool Chick

Comments are closed.

