Skip to content
Awkward Things to do on Earth Day

Happy Earth DayHappy Earth Day!

Earth Day started around 43 years ago, thanks to Denis Hayes. You can read more about it from Public Radio International.

It is that time of the year when we all remember the importance of  preservation.

Its not about hippies, living la vida loca, or tying ourselves to trees. But for those of you who choose to really make a statement this Earth Day, go all out!

Here are three things you can do today to make things awkward.

  1. Hide in a bathroom stall and wait for someone to take the stall next to yours. When they’re done taking care of business and reach for the toilet paper… yell out HAPPY EARTH DAY!!! And dump a bag of leaves on them.
  2. Get a bunch of friends to make a circle somewhere outdoors, and throw dirt at each other!
  3. Start a “thing” by pinching people for not wearing green today. When they say that it isn’t St. Patrick’s Day and that it doesn’t work, run away yelling “Earth Day streaking!!!” and see if that other “thing” works out and people join you.

Just kidding, guys. Sheesh.

All joking aside, I believe it is important to share this day with little kids… they appreciate nature more than most adults. That is good because maybe some of the members of their generations will take a stronger stand on protecting and preserving the environment.

People make it seem like a tough subject to talk about, with the whole global warming “debate” and the “lost cause” of recycling.. but its actually not that bad. We are slowly destroying our home in exchange for things we don’t need, and some of us are trying to help.

But what ever your views are, celebrate! Go out, have an iced tea! Fly a kite. Take nature photography. Go crazy on Instagram.

Today, we celebrate our home: Earth!

 

 

3 Comments
  1. Too bad some of our cities make us PAY to recycle things. That’s why I never do it. Also because I forget, but even if I remembered, I would have to PAY to RECYCLE things, which I’m probably never going to do. I already paid for that thing once. They should be paying me to reuse my stuff.

    April 22, 2013
    • Exactly!

      And you know one thing I just can’t wrap my mind around? Why can’t we lower the cost of recycled materials!?

      If I want a recycled item, I have to pay a lot more.. it just seems wrong. It reminds me of the choices for “healthy options” at restaurants. A salad costs you 7 dollars, when a burger costs you 1.50. They’re almost trying to discourage us hahaha.

      Thank you for your comment 🙂

      Edwin

      April 22, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Green Reading This Week: Earth Day Edition | A Girl in Motion

Comments are closed.

