Skip to content
My Notebook

What do you do when you’re looking for something that you can’t find anywhere?

Have they discontinued one of your favorite candy bars? Cereals? Do you miss the Hostess’ Twinkie?

I felt that way when I was looking for a notebook to write my lecture notes in, and it was almost embarrassing to seem picky about the type of notebook I wanted. I got strange looks from people at my school’s bookstore, Office Max, and I could even sense the awkward vibe in email exchanges with shop owners. I finally got some hope when when the girl at Staples (office supply store) smiled when I asked her.

“Oh! You’re like the fourth person to ask for those,” she told me, excitedly, “but we don’t have them. Maybe online?” with a change of tone.

Ouch.

I wanted a notebook with no lines in it. I wanted it with white sheets, and no perforations (or holes) because I always rip out stuff accidentally. After finding expensive journals and sketchbooks with paper of much better quality than I needed, I decided to make my own notebook. I spoke to shop owners, material suppliers, shipping company reps.. I felt all grown up! Hahaha.

This was a few months back.

And about 10 minutes ago, I launched the website for Emnote Unruled Notebooks.

Emnote Unruled Notebook

I spoke to a few of you about this idea, and am extremely grateful for your support!

For those of you who may not get it, students in mathematics, science, art, and design all struggle with taking notes on lined paper. Some people like to have that space to doodle on, like Lauren from viciously-sweet.com (you guys have to check her out!). And well, why do you think children prefer writing on walls and on huge blank sheets of paper? They’re rule free!

Check out the notebooks here: www.UnruledNotebook.com

The sale price you see on there is ONLY valid through Wednesday! (Pacific standard time)

If you like to try out new things, I would love to get your opinion! Just leave me a comment on this post, tweet me or shoot an email to awkwardlist@gmail.com to find out how to try these out. Very limited quantities available to test. If you know of any bloggers who would be interested, please feel free to share this post!

Thank you guys for reading! I’m excited!

Edwin

5 Comments
  1. Oh, wow ! I thought I was the only one who didn’t like notebook with lines.

    April 21, 2013
    • Yay!

      April 21, 2013
      • Lines make it so formal and academic. ~__~

        April 21, 2013
  2. When I read this post I was like I have been here before. It’s so hard to get the right kind of notebook, because I never keep it to one subject and then I end up just ruining the whole thing… and you can be totally positive I totally doodled all over my structures and history notes…
    Can I just say I’m so glad someone took initiative and made the notebook of many a persons dreams.. AND THEN MENTIONED ME IN THE POST!
    I think I have found my new favorite thing. I need some of these notebooks!

    April 21, 2013
    • Thank you Lauren! I think you would be great greeting card maker or children book illustrator 🙂 And of course, an awesome architect. Haha

      I got your email, and received your order (shipping soon!)

      It was a bit more work than I thought it would be, but it it finally came together! Thank you SO MUCH!

      Edwin

      April 22, 2013

Comments are closed.

