Skip to content
Oh sorry, I was talking to myself

148. Getting caught talking to yourself

Do you like to talk to yourself?

I love it. I do it as often as I can.

talking to self

A couple of friends have told me that they used to do it often as children, and that they were pressured to stop by their parents or teachers. I am also a friend of me, so I am counting myself in there.

There’s something about it that I take great comfort in. It’s almost like prayer, meditation, or talk therapy. I make up problems and solve them, I have discussions with people I’ve never met, and plan out conversations with someone I really want to talk to (all of which fail immediately in actuality after saying hi).

Everything goes smoothly until you get caught.

Isn’t that the way they say it goes? It happens like this:

“Uh, who are you talking to?” 

or more direct:

“Are you, haha, talking.. to yourself..?”

At which point you turn around and say:

  • “How long have you been standing there?” – Trying to make it seem all casual.
  • “I was thinking out loud” – Hoping that they accept your reason and let it go. They do about half the time.
  • “Yeah, SUE ME!” – When you’re feeling defensive.
  • “Yes, sir!” – For when you’re feeling confident and YOLO-ish. You talk to yourself, so what?

I admire those people that get stared at because they talk to themselves out on the street. They may have something going on psychologically, but they still have a story to tell just like the rest of us. If you’ve been around me out in the street and see someone that just doesn’t give a crap about what people think about them, you’ve probably heard me say how much I like those people. If you want to wear a dress and sport a mustache that same day, go for it!

As long as your freedom doesn’t interfere with someone else’s freedom, we’re cool… right?

Have a good day, all!

Edwin

22 Comments
  1. Love it!!!

    April 17, 2013
    • Anonymous #

      Thank you!!

      April 17, 2013
    • Haha I’m not alone! Thanks!

      April 17, 2013
  2. LOL Edwin. I never talk to myself, only to the voices in my head.

    April 17, 2013
    • Hahahahaha! I guess I should start saying that from now on 🙂

      That was a good one! Hahah

      April 17, 2013
      • That’s because I am crazy brilliant. 😉 Thanks.

        April 17, 2013
  3. Wait, “I was thinking out loud” only works about half the time? ruh-roh…

    April 17, 2013
    • HAHA! I’ve tried it and people STILL look at me weird. Others just say “oh, alright” and let it go.

      I think talking to ourselves is great!

      Scooby Doo.. hahah. Ruh ROH!!

      April 18, 2013
  4. he he he, Sorry, but the only people I ;ve seen who talk to themselves on the streets clearly need to take some meds or something. I do talk to myself, but only in my head, and when there’s no one around…. oh, and I call it day dreaming.

    April 17, 2013
    • Have you ever seen a tv show called “Scrubs”? It was aired maybe 10 years ago.. maybe less here in the United States. The main character used to day dream all the time.. it was awesome.

      April 18, 2013
      • I just bought a Lotto ticket, then driving to my uni, I daydreamed about what I’d do if I won. I thought I’d buy a big tract of land and make it like an English garden where everyone can come and enjoy the flowers, and make a big donation to St. Jude Children’s Hospital, then I’d buy a modest house, solar powered. I just daydreamed that last week.

        I’ve seen one episode of Scrubs.

        April 18, 2013
  5. I do it all the time!!!

    It’s actually a part of early childhood development…. perhaps we never grew up???

    April 17, 2013
    • YAY for not growing up! I’ve been around children who love talking to themselves and I enjoy it very much 🙂

      April 18, 2013
  6. anonymousy #

    I’ve always thought talking to yourself was ok, as long as you don’t carry on a complete conversation with yourself.

    April 17, 2013
    • I guess that’s the line, huh? Man.. what I do is definitely not ok then! Hahaha whoops…

      April 18, 2013
  7. Talking to myself – I do that All. The. Time.
    If I’m cooking something, I act as if I’m a chef hosting a cooking show; if I’m travelling, I act as if I’m hosting a travel show (yes, in public!) and so on and so forth.
    Sometimes, I just stand in front of the mirror and talk to myself in hushed whispers while applying moisturizer. My sister, who also is in the same room, reading, notices me. When I’m done pampering myself, I find her staring at me. Its a little embarrassing but then we both talk to ourselves and stare at each other. Like you said, it really works like meditation.

    April 17, 2013
    • I do that while cooking too, it makes it so much more awesome. But it DOES work like meditation, after I’m done I feel relieved and extremely satisfied. I’m not really sure how else to describe it. I’ve even had to set time aside to be alone and be able to do it without feeling uncomfortable 🙂

      April 18, 2013
      • Hahaha! You bet it makes cooking more fun!
        And I know what you’re talking about when you say you take time out especially for talking to self. 🙂

        April 19, 2013
  8. Of course I talk to myself. I argue with myself. And I don’t always win…
    Most of the time I manage to keep it in my head, but sometimes it spills out. Yes it can be awkward if that happens in public 🙂

    April 18, 2013
    • Ahh!! Yes, sometimes it DOES “SPILL OUT” into real life! So awkward!

      April 18, 2013
  9. I talk to myself in the mirror–that way I know someone who I really care about is listening…

    April 18, 2013
    • Me too! And in the same way, someone who you really care about is also talking to you, haha

      April 18, 2013

Comments are closed.

