Skip to content
The Caring People

Hello,

So after a few minutes of being online today, I heard the news of the Boston Marathon explosions. Authorities are still trying to figure it all out, but so far there have been 2 dead and more than 20 people injured.

We try, and try again to not think of this world as a bad place. We like to think that people are good. We like to think that this was just an outlier in a sea of well-meaning, good people.

In my own way, I like to pay attention to the good and funny things in life. I enjoy paying attention to people, and details that we just don’t find the time to talk about. This is a blog about people. And I believe people are good.

In tough times like these, I like to remember a little story from one of my favorite people:

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, “Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.” To this day, especially in times of disaster, I remember my mother’s words and I am always comforted by realizing that there are still so many helpers, so many caring people in this world.” ย  -Mr. Rogers

Please don’t forget that there is more good in this world than you may realize at this moment.

Let us get together, trust in each other, and become unstoppable using only forces of good.

Thank you for reading,

Edwin

10 Comments
  1. Great quote, I’ll be remembering that. I agree on noticing small things in life , there’s something so intrinsic about each person and some day those little things becomes their most prominent feature on your memory .

    April 15, 2013
    • Thank you, I have a whole book on his quotes and stories.

      Youโ€™re right, those ARE the things we remember most. Thank you for the comment ๐Ÿ™‚

      Edwin

      April 15, 2013
  2. Love that quote. Patton Oswalt, the comedian, posted a facebook status a few hours ago that really touched me, too:

    Boston. Fucking horrible.

    I remember, when 9/11 went down, my reaction was, “Well, I’ve had it with humanity.”

    But I was wrong. I don’t know what’s going to be revealed to be behind all of this mayhem. One human insect or a poisonous mass of broken sociopaths.

    But here’s what I DO know. If it’s one person or a HUNDRED people, that number is not even a fraction of a fraction of a fraction of a percent of the population on this planet. You watch the videos of the carnage and there are people running TOWARDS the destruction to help out. (Thanks FAKE Gallery founder and owner Paul Kozlowski for pointing this out to me). This is a giant planet and we’re lucky to live on it but there are prices and penalties incurred for the daily miracle of existence. One of them is, every once in awhile, the wiring of a tiny sliver of the species gets snarled and they’re pointed towards darkness.

    But the vast majority stands against that darkness and, like white blood cells attacking a virus, they dilute and weaken and eventually wash away the evil doers and, more importantly, the damage they wreak. This is beyond religion or creed or nation. We would not be here if humanity were inherently evil. We’d have eaten ourselves alive long ago.

    So when you spot violence, or bigotry, or intolerance or fear or just garden-variety misogyny, hatred or ignorance, just look it in the eye and think, “The good outnumber you, and we always will.”

    April 15, 2013
    • Wow. Beautiful…

      Thank you very much for sharing that. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Wow.

      April 15, 2013
  3. You wrote a lovely post on a day filled someone tried to fill the world with ugliness. Here’s to hoping for goodness and for people coming together and make something terrible, better.

    April 15, 2013
    • Thank you Lauren.. we have to keep our hopes up ๐Ÿ™‚

      April 16, 2013
  4. It’s now 4 dead and 140 injured. The horror ! It doesn’t stop.

    April 15, 2013
    • Oh my……. :/

      April 16, 2013
  5. Nicely said, Edwin.

    April 16, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Photo of the Day: Look For The Helpers

Comments are closed.

