Skip to content
Texting While Driving

STOP TEXTING WHILE DRIVING

For you guys not in the United States, our government censors a lot of stuff and doesn’t give us graphic images in the news and such. They say it is bad for us. So we must go to the internet!

Imagine a crowd repeating: “To the internet!” while pointing to the horizon.

Please watch the video at the end of this article from the PSA in the UK. It isn’t too bad, I was able to hold in my breakfast just fine, and you can see the computer generated graphics anyway.

Since we’re in the mood for good causes and such lately around here, we should start a dumbphone drive to collect flip phones and old used phones to give to passengers for them to chuck at drivers that are texting while driving. I mean yeah, I ride my bike as often as I can, but when I have to get behind a steering wheel I find myself honking at more people than ever before because they’re going into my lane! If you’ve ever been yelled at with a “Get off your phone!” while driving around here in the Los Angeles/Orange County area, there’s a good chance it was me.

How many times have you gotten a text from a person that is driving? 

Scary stuff.

It slows people down too, when the light turns to green, the drivers are so focused on their cell phones that they get honked at and then get mad at you and flip you off while blasting Britney Spears on their stereos. We all know that Getting Honked At is awkward.

If you are one of these people, please stop. You’re not just risking YOUR life, and you shouldn’t have the right to risk anyone else’s life.

Text her later. Airplane mode it. Hands-free phone call. Have Siri text for you. Be fully focused on operating your 4,000 lb machine at 97 feet per second.

Why don’t they show these things around here? Freakin U.S.

9 Comments
  1. Good reminder of the dangers of using your phone while driving. I really like your dumbphone idea too, because there are a lot of times I want to throw/send a message to someone on their cell phones while driving like an idiot. Maybe a special honk to get them to get off their phone and focus on the road.

    March 5, 2013
  2. Yeah, a special honk! Ugh, it is so dangerous around here. It almost looks as though the driver is asleep while they’re looking down at their laps to hide the cell phones. Unbelievable..

    Oh hi Elena 🙂 Nice to hear from you!

    Edwin

    March 5, 2013
  3. trjensen #

    It is absolutely important you don’t use your phone while your driving. It impairs your driving and threatens, not only you, but the people you share the road with. I walk a lot and have had some very frightening close calls because of people on their phones.

    March 5, 2013
  4. People have this false belief “I can do it. Nothing bad will happen to me. It’s always other people who are careless. I know what I’m doing.” Until they don’t.

    It’s irrational and even the best, most effective and prolific RATIONAL campaign against texting while doing anything else that requires your undivided attention will never work. I learned the hard way that trying to reason with unreasonable people doesn’t work.

    I wish I had a solution, but I don’t… 😦

    March 7, 2013
    • I remember they started giving tickets to those texters, around 30 dollars. That’s how important it is? Oh man, it really is freakin’ scary. Ugh.. you are so right, trying to reason with unreasonable people is kind of a waste of time.

      :/

      March 7, 2013
  5. I really wish the road was more like a demolition derby so I can just smack the crap out of their car if they aren’t paying attention. Then again, their road rage would kick in and I’d end up totalled, but at least I’d have the moral high ground.

    March 8, 2013
    • That would be AWESOME!!!!!!! And we all wear helmets and stuff.. oh man, so cool.

      March 8, 2013
  6. phoebemunson #

    That awkward moment when you realise they censor PSA’s but meanwhile guns are still legal.

    March 12, 2013
  7. Hayley Monnier #

    I have been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours… It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally; if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did; the web will be much more useful than ever before. North Platte Roofing Pro, 3765 E. Cavalry Hills Dr., North Platte, NE, 69101, US, 308-221-8734

    June 30, 2013

Comments are closed.

