Skip to content
Being a College Student

When I was in middle school, I felt like I wasn’t “old enough” to be there because in elementary school, middle schoolers looked tall and intimidating. In high school, same thing. I always thought about tv shows and movies that constantly showed that many people’s last memories of you will be of high school, and that they will always remember how dorky you were and how you always chose the same color for the bands of your braces.

In college, that feeling goes away after freshman year. Before you know it, you adjust to the college life and get to attend a lame frat party. You then experience some drama, learn that you don’t have to go to class, and then quickly unlearn that previous thing after getting your first F.

The greatest stories of my life are about college, and the biggest mistakes I’ve made are related to it. But it’s still awesome and awkward! For those of you receiving your letters of admission now.. congratulations! And for those letters of rejection, you’re not alone.. don’t give up!

What do YOU remember most about college?

20130304-133731.jpg

Oh, I almost forgot. My sister Jennifer from San Diego State University has a short message for a good cause that I’d like to share:

“Would you like to donate a few dollars to my cause? I am doing a walk for the National Alliance for Mental Illness on April 13th, 2013 and my minimal goal is to reach 100 dollars by that date. It’s just a quick transaction online on http://namiwalks.nami.org/jencov Anything will help! :)”

Mental illness is a serious issue, and I’m grateful for those who try to make a positive change.

Happy Monday!

Edwin

9 Comments
  1. Hahahaha.

    As someone who just finished university and is now working in the ‘industry’ with no experience whatsoever, is there a meme to show how tired and woefully incompetent I am?

    March 4, 2013
    • Haha.. challenge accepted, I’ll look for one.

      Just hang in there! And congrats on finishing 🙂

      March 4, 2013
  2. Well, I can’t speak for post secondary, but I can sure as hell say I’m almost there and I’m completely scared shitless.. I’ve heard all the stories about the smartest high school kid with the 95% average being grateful to acheive a 65% in uni. Somehow I missed it when all the kids felt ‘old enough’.

    Cheers to your sister for her cause, hope it goes well ! (:

    March 4, 2013
    • Hi 🙂

      Don’t be scared! Its all about adjusting and prioritizing.. there’s always a lot going on, so its easy to lose track. In courses, you just have to turn it up a notch.. or 5 notches haha.

      Keep us updated! And thank you, my sister appreciates it 🙂

      March 4, 2013
      • Definitely, I’ve been stalking around adults for advises on careers.. it wasn’t all that much comforting for your school boards to lecture you about how universities no longer guarantee jobs as they had readily before. Hopefully it all comes together, will let you know !

        March 4, 2013
        • That’s good you’re getting advice now. Smart woman! Remember to try to get a job, internships, join/lead organizations, or participate in research while in school.. because its true what they say: you need experience to gain experience! As a student, you at least have an excuse to be experience-less but that excuse gets old as soon as you graduate :/

          March 5, 2013
          • I know D: I’m terribly indecisive so I keep switching between where to go for internships, worrying about whether or not it’ll be in the least relevant to the field of studies I want in the future. I always plunder to research on post secondary with zeal and then eventually when all the courses and requirements pile up into a huge jumble of terror I just can’t. @@

            March 5, 2013
  3. phoebemunson #

    Ahh I remember the feeling of security that came once I’d left freshers behind me. Although that awkward feeling of not knowing what your doing and thinking it’s only a matter of time before everyone realises hit me again the moment I graduated… and never really went away.

    March 12, 2013
    • Darn it! Well awkwardness isn’t so bad 🙂

      March 14, 2013

Comments are closed.

