Skip to content
Calling your boyfriend/girlfriend by an ex’s name

lalalalala..

Conversation is going smoothly. Lalala.. wait for it..

Boom! 

Wait, let me do that again:

BOOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!1!!!1!1!!

It just slipped out, you said it.

Sometimes I wonder about those women who change boyfriends all the time, I mean how do they keep track of their names and such? How do they remember the guy’s favorite color or his favorite food? How do they not get names confused?

One of the posts that got Freshly Pressed on here — *applause* ..oh, thanks guys! ..*you guys are still applauding* thank you, thank you! *you guys don’t calm down* [barely audible: thank you guys, really] *applause* Thanks! *applause fades* … So what was I saying? Ah yes, the Freshly Pressed post —*applause*

Ok! Guys, seriously!

The freshly pressed post was titled “Forgetting someone’s name“, and even though it wasn’t that great or anything, it shows that this stuff is pretty common. When someone calls you by name, and you can’t remember their name, it makes the whole thing uncomfortable. The thing here is a little different though, you didn’t forget their name, you actually remembered someone else’s instead of their own.

I’ve been called Mike, Edgar, and even Hen. Every single one of those times, I just pretended I didn’t hear it. They noticed. And I let them simmer in the awkwardness.

And the same has happened the other way around. I made an interesting discovery: people will not usually call your attention to it. Though I am sure you can think of that one person that is not afraid of causing drama and will say “What did you just call me?”

In relationships though, things are a little different. It seems like even the simple things, such as farting, become a huge deal. Even liking or commenting on someone else’s photos can get you in trouble.

Honey let me explainThings can get pretty crazy if you get the name wrong, just sayin’.

Well maybe that is a little extreme, but people get mad and feelings get hurt through that honest mistake.

Be careful. But don’t think about it too much because then you’re going to do it and then blame me for it. I don’t want that.

Have you ever been in an uncomfortable situation like that with your boyfriend/girlfriend?

Let’s keep it PG-Rated 13. With just a splish splash of R.

Hahaha, kidding, jeez.

Horse - Haters gonna hate

8 Comments
  1. Soooo in college I was “hooking up” with this guy (don’t judge, we all did it) and after one of our eehhhh eehhhmmm “sessions”…he brushed my hair behind my ear and said “Oh Rachel” ever so lovingly. I slapped his hand away and said “WHAT did you call me?! Who is Rachel??” He swore he didn’t even KNOW a Rachel and it was just a weird mistake. I didn’t buy it so I did some digging and found out Rachel was his current girlfriend who went to a college nearby. WTF. The worst part?? I found her on Facebook and wrote her a note to tell her he had been cheating on her for 6 weeks and I was SO sorry, I had no idea he had a girlfriend…and she stayed with him.

    February 12, 2013
    • WOW. Now that’s a story.

      Why would Rachel stay with him? I don’t understand that stuff. I think that’s funny how he thought you’d believe that he’d randomly call you someone else’s name, out of nowhere just like that. He didn’t know a Rachel, hahahah

      I’ve said the wrong name before and its better to just apologize and move on. Of course, that guy would’ve been risking his life by being honest right there..

      Edwin

      February 12, 2013
  2. Thankfully I have never experienced this (yet???) though I do obviously fart in front of my boyfriend all too often…and talk about it in public. So I’ve still got that going for me. Congrats on Freshly Pressed – well deserved!

    February 12, 2013
    • Thank you! And its awesome that you can fart openly, feels good right?

      Edwin

      February 13, 2013
  3. I can recall doing that twice with two different people that I called two different names. The first time it was not well received. The second time, the gods were in my favor, for that gf wasn’t paying attention, or she somehow didn’t hear me. She was (and still is) someone with a stadium sized temper. I really dodged a bullet. In fact I probably dodged heavy machine gun fire.

    February 12, 2013
    • Wow, the universe did something for you there.. you should be grateful hahaha. Maybe you should have them wear name tags 🙂

      Edwin

      February 13, 2013
  4. My mother’s experience told a thousand times…….She had a college friend who had this one and only BF thru their college years. After 2 years or so, the friend invited Mom to her son’s baptismal party. Mom introduced dad to her husband, but called him by her friend’s ex’s name. All her college friends literally rolled on the floor laughing, and said it could only happen to Mom. I think I would be like my Mother. I’m bad at remembering names. I can still remember everything about this guy I crushed on in HS for 3 years, except his last name. o.Oa

    February 13, 2013
    • Hahaha!

      Reminds me of a story of mine, though its totally different haha!! I introduced a girlfriend to my family by bringing her to an event and almost everyone was confusing her name with an ex-gf.

      Awkward.

      Edwin

      February 13, 2013

Comments are closed.

