Skip to content
142. Being embarrassed by something that happened a long time ago

So I was having an awesome day until I remembered something really dumb I said when I was 14.

It was one of those things, you know… when you become extremely embarrassed and wish that the moment had never happened. And you wish for that so much that eventually you block it out of your mind because if it comes back up, you’ll feel the same embarrassment all over again.

Certain situations increase the chances of you remembering such things. Things like meeting up with an old friend who knew every detail about it, and chances of it being brought up improve as the inebriation level increases whilst around said friend.

Contrary to popular belief, I don’t have too many of those situations. Ugh, I’m doing it again. I’m remembering the time I wrote a letter and it was found by someone who gave it to the girl, AKA the subject of the whole thing. Thank you, people. You’re making me remember all of it. I guess it could have been worse, though.

Sometimes, people feel that way when they think about their past relationships. For the guys out there, how many times do you wish you hadn’t done something for a woman? You think you’re being all sweet and stuff by getting her things and saying cheesy stuff, and then you break up and it all comes back to masticate you in the gluteals. Soon after, you can imagine her telling all her friends about how you made a complete fool of yourself when in reality she might just find it funny and only tells her new boyfriends.

Or ladies! Ever thought about a guy from your past and have been all like, “I cannot believe myself!”? Yes, us here at Awkward List (well, just me), cannot believe you either. But yes you did tell him that, and yes you let him do those things. Yes, we know, we know.. he said he would change, and yes you should’ve listened to your friends.

Aha!

Have you thought of something you that makes you feel the humiliation all over again yet?

Oops.

Now you have to share 🙂 Email me at awkwardlist (at) gmail (dot) com or submit it in the comments section please!

Oh about the letter? She said no.

Arigato.

Have a good weekend, everybody!

Edwin

4 Comments
  1. Too many to count. Oh the shame

    January 20, 2013
    • Distraction is key 🙂

      Edwin

      January 20, 2013
  2. My book is filled with embarrassing stuff from my life–it’s what makes us human! 🙂

    January 21, 2013
  3. I try to forget my embarrassing moments-and thankfully it works!!

    February 7, 2013

Comments are closed.

