Skip to content
Becoming a Verb

139. When your friends use your name as a verb to refer to something you constantly do

Are you a verb?

I’m not hoping to start an argument here. You can be what ever you set your mind to, so if you choose to be a contraction or an adjective, go for it.

“But I’m a noun.”

Yes. I know that. Just… ok?

I was sitting with a group of friends at a table when I heard one of them say “OK.. so now you’re going to bust an Ed?”

“Uh, you know I’m still here, right?” I shot back.

“I think I’m gonna have to ‘Edwin’ this one,” Ellie told the others, completely ignoring me, “if I never ask, I’ll never know, you know?” she continued.

Because yes, I have been guilty of asking the most random questions. I once walked up to a table at the cafeteria in college and asked someone “Hey, do you need a couch?” completely out of nowhere, and she just looked at me silently before laughing at what had just happened. I would I eventually lose the couch but gained one seriously-awesome friend.

So Ellie went up to another girl and asked something about woman stuff.. like about heels or make up or something sort-of-unimportant. They became friends for a while until, well, you know.. women issues.

Let me introduce you to some blogger-turned-into-verbs:

“Why’d you go all Sandi on us?” – To disappear from blogging for a while. Hahaha I’m glad she’s back with more stories! (Blogger: Sandi)

“Look on the bright side, go Lame-Adventuring, dude” –Β To take a “whatever” life event and turn it into a hilarious adventure whilst being economical even it means building your own chairs to save a few bucks. (Blogger: Lame Adventure Woman)

“I should probably Lauren more around here” –Β To turn things into glitter, unicorns, laughter, and dresses. See also: To doodle. (Blogger: Lauren)

Even though the mentioned WordPressers’ verbs are also synonyms to awesome-ing, other people use verbs in other ways.

Match a friend with one of the following:

  • To over think
  • To chicken out
  • To laugh at the wrong time
  • To fall asleep on the phone
  • To get emotional

How would people use you as a verb?

11 Comments
  1. You’ve already used me as a verb, Edwin. Thanks. When can I expect to see those chairs?

    January 10, 2013
    • They’re coming soon!

      January 11, 2013
  2. YES…you know you’re awesome when you’ve become a verb…is there some School House Rocks song for that? I want one of those too, my husband’s name is Bill and he’s sitting on capital hill…someone found him a cool shirt with the Bill on it…I want that kind of awesomoness. That’s when you know you’ve made it, thanks for getting me on my way…VERB…action…yup sounds about right! πŸ™‚ Thanks!

    January 10, 2013
    • You’re welcome! Hahaha I can almost hear it turning into a School House Rocks song πŸ™‚

      January 11, 2013
  3. Yup, people like to make verbs out of everything. If they were to make me into a verb, it would probably have to do with avoiding conflict or being too optimistic. What do you think?

    January 10, 2013
    • DEFINITELY has something to do with being optimistic haha. You’re a fellow avoider of conflict? Yay!

      January 11, 2013
  4. OMG. I’m a verb, and when I was reading this.. I was like… what would pulling a ‘Lauren’ be… And then it was answered and I sound like a Disney Character… which is honestly more or less right.
    And I pulled an ‘Edwin’ this morning and asked this woman if her boots had traction built in them…

    January 10, 2013
    • Now THERE’S something I would ask! You get the idea πŸ™‚

      January 11, 2013
  5. I don’r know what I am, but I can talk about politics one moment, then go to different kinds of poop , the next.

    Cheers ! * By the way, it shows on my blogsite*

    January 10, 2013
    • Hahaha, sounds like you’re a great conversationalist πŸ™‚

      January 11, 2013
  6. People (including myself) use my name when they have an ADD moment – As in, “Crap. I left the baby carrier on the roof of the car. Totally pulled a Summer.” or en route to a concert that’s like 4 hours away “What do you mean the tickets aren’t in your purse? You forgot the tickets?” That’s pulling a Summer

    January 12, 2013

Comments are closed.

