Skip to content
Someone took your username. And hasn’t posted anything.

“Sorry, that username is not available.”

Have you ever tried to make an account somewhere, only to find out that the username that you want is taken by someone else? That’s enough to get anybody out there angry, but how about when you visit their profile/website and find out that they haven’t used it at all?

A friend of mine recently tried making a Tumblr account and was explaining how she was so angry that someone had her name and had not posted in forever. Levar Burton, the guy from Reading Rainbow, contacted Twitter in order to get the username “ReadingRainbow” because the owner of the username hadn’t posted in a while. They gave it to him. Are we allowed to do that? Woo hoo!

The whole internet accounts thing is getting pretty crazy, and I’ve actually surprised myself in the amount of passwords that I can remember. Some websites make you use a special character !@#$%^ or one capital letter, one number. Only numbers, only letters, or a combination of the two but no special characters, special characters only, and some that need to be exactly 6 characters long with no spaces and 2 special characters. Seriously people?

A long time ago, all I had to worry about was my email address password, and the pin to access my checking account. Now we have to remember our password to log into our computers, Facebook, Twitter, pin for your iPhone, email, Pinterest, Tumblr, WordPress, job applications, FAFSA, lock combination, school log in.

And THEN just in case we forget any of these, there are a ton of “security questions and answers” that we have to remember. A while ago, the Sprint people asked me what elementary school I went to, my bank asked for the name of my first girlfriend.. the list goes on and on:

  • Favorite person from history?
  • Where did your parents meet?
  • What is your mother’s maiden name?
  • What was the color of your first pet?
  • What was the name of your first car? (I think I got those two mixed up)
  • What is your favorite food?
  • What is your social security number?
  • Will you marry me?
  • Have you ever stolen anything?

Ok, so maybe they don’t get THAT silly, but come on. Sometimes they are pretty strange.

I say you congratulate your memory for such an awesome accomplishment. How many passwords do YOU have to remember? Has anyone ever taken your username?

9 Comments
  1. Your posts are always a treat.. (Y)

    October 15, 2012
    • Hey!

      Thank you! 😀

      October 16, 2012
  2. Yes, and I think it’s awful fishy. How many Lornas are there out there, anyway?

    By the way, I love the security question: Will you marry me? Too funny! 🙂

    October 15, 2012
  3. LOL I have a friend that wouldn’t use twitter because someone took his username.

    October 15, 2012
    • Hahaha thats how I felt about Skype!

      October 15, 2012
  4. Someone used my username to spam hundreds of people that I was kicked out… I contacted the people in charge,,,, I was reinstated, but of course with a new password.

    October 15, 2012
  5. I hate that I always answer those questions when I’m really annoyed and my answer it like “you know, don’t pretend” and then I have to reset my password…

    October 17, 2012
  6. Riz Brown #

    I, uhh… This post killed a part of me, a little bit. I had this Tumblr account, which I deleted for reasons innumerable. For a long while, I kept thinking about my username, and how others might want to use it (not that it’s special or anything) so I took ownership of the username again without the intention of posting anything. Poor souls – those that would want to use rizbrown.tumblr.com – be on your wary paths. :))

    And I haven’t read anything in a while that made me snicker in wit-coated delight. 😀 (HINT: I may be insinuating that I find your list of security questions funny.)

    October 30, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. How do you keep track of your internet passwords? | AwkwardList

Comments are closed.

