Skip to content
Karaoke is Japanese for ‘Empty Orchestra’

135. When someone sucks at karaoke and you’re all embarrassed for them

How many of you like karaoke? Its an interesting thing, don’t you think?

A long time ago, some Japanese dudes were like “Yo, I don’t like the way this dude sings, so I’m gonna sing it instead” and BAM it went around the world and now we sing music while we’re half drunk sitting on the lap of a Santa Claus in a bar in Downtown Los Angeles in July.

Whenever I go to a Filipino home, it is THE thing to do, it is only second in awesomeness to being able to freely eat with our hands.

For those of you new to the concept of karaoke, here is what it is:

1. You go up to the guy

2. You tell him what song you want to sing and he looks it up.

3. Wait your turn and SING for the audience!

Simple, right?

Every once in a while though, someone goes up to the microphone and begins singing a very difficult song –badly. I don’t mean to be mean but sometimes they don’t follow the music, and sometimes they change the melody of it completely. Depending on the¬†inebriation level of the audience, they will either sing with him or her, or clap, cheer and dance! That’s what is so cool about it: there is no downside.

You can go up there and completely fail at singing Disney’s A Whole New World and people would still love you for it.

It does get a little awkward when people embarrass themselves in front of others though. Fortunately there is a way to get rid of the awkwardness, and that is to actually turn to the drunk people and follow their example. That’s right, we cheer them on!

Not awkward.

Happy Monday everyone!

Edwin

 

6 Comments
  1. I love to sing, but I really suck at karaoke. I don’t know what it is. I have a good voice, but not a solo voice, I guess. Or maybe my great voice is all in my head! I can really dance, though, so I’ll stick to that–I always try to play to my strengths…

    September 10, 2012
  2. I do get embarrassed for them.

    September 10, 2012
  3. Karaokes seems like a very interesting thing, in my opinion! I would love to try it one day!

    September 11, 2012
  4. Karaoke! Love! Love!!

    September 12, 2012
  5. Ahahah ! I’m Filipino and you’re right . Every Filipino home has Karaoke… ( we have one ) Oh, man.

    October 1, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Letters to AwkwardList: Singing out of tune | AwkwardList

Comments are closed.

