Skip to content
Your Embarrassing Ringtone

132. When your ringtone makes the situation awkward.

I always like to joke about that iPhone alert sound that everybody has. I hear it everywhere. On the bus, on the train, in the restrooms at TGI Friday’s even over the sound of some dude throwing up in the urinals, I hear it in the library, and in my sleep. Even my phone does it sometimes, and the tone was the first thing I changed on it. Freakin’ Siri.

One of my friends, Mike, from college always had a thing for hardcore rap music.. and his ringtone was some song that started with the F word and the N word and well, you guys get the point. When he would get a text message it would yell out a bunch of curse words. It was funny at first, until it went off in class. Then during a meeting. His phone would just start screaming these things at maximum volume.

Sometimes I hear Mexican music, the kind that speaks of drugs, money, and violence and the owner of the cell phone feels a little embarrassed by it when it rings. Well if you’re going to be embarrassed by it, why do you have it? My ringtone is Island in the Sun by Weezer and I love it. It rings and I just let it fill the room. I pretend that I have super slow reflexes or that I can’t find the  “shut up” volume on my phone. It’s awesome! Well except when I miss the phone call for waiting too long to pick up.

See, your ringtone says a lot about you and you only get ONE song to prove yourself to others. Will you have some Metallica, or Britney Spears? It shows what you’re like and how you feel (or felt when you chose it).

  • Do you have a generic tone? The usual, lalalalala tone?
  • Do you blast some upbeat pop song?
  • Is your ringtone .. emo?
  • Do you just keep it on vibrate?

We have to think about these things. Because the situation goes from normal to awkward in .8 seconds based on it. Two scenarios:

  1. You’re at a funeral-
    “I am so sorry for your–”

    *The Laughing Baby Ringtone comes on

  2. “–um, excuse me.”
  3. You’re on a first date –
    “Yes, I definitely agree, women deserve that respect. They’re not objects, you know?”*Ringtone: Oh yeah, make it nasty, make it nasty, yeah shake that thang*

    ..followed by an awkward silence.

What’s YOUR ringtone?

17 Comments
  1. I usually leave my phone one vibration only. My message tone is a little notification noise, and my ringtone is “The Venom Inside” by Chimaira. . . http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l-wE9hbIPfc

    September 3, 2012
    • That is hardcore stuff! lol

      September 4, 2012
  2. I think a ringtone speaks volumes. Mine is “Friday I’m in love” by the Cure. I never want to answer it because when I hear it I feel so happy!!!

    September 3, 2012
    • I have that on my morning playlist 🙂 Great song!

      September 4, 2012
  3. i usually keep jingles as my ring tone…my latest one is http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_uOf44wE3oQ

    September 4, 2012
    • I like it.. what’s the name of the song??

      September 4, 2012
      • its an ad jingle for a watch brand! Search for Titan HTSE (dats the watch brand name, a prominent name in India) ad jingle

        September 5, 2012
        • i liked your Weezer ringtone so much!Dats my current ring tone! 🙂 Thanks

          September 5, 2012
          • YES!! 😀 you’re welcome

            September 5, 2012
  4. Anonymous #

    I always liked those animal noise ringtones, but they can be embarrassing too. I was at a lecture at uni and the guest speaker had just been introduced / bigged up, when one girl’s phone rang (not mine!) and it was a horse neighing. We were all in stitches, fortunately the speaker had a sense of humour too 😀

    September 4, 2012
    • Anonymous #

      Why am I anonymous? I should be Knotrune? Weird.

      September 4, 2012
    • Knotrune!

      THAT’S HILARIOUS!!! A horse neighing! Hahahahahahahahaha! Imagine if the speaker had no sense of humor.. whoa. Awkward.

      September 4, 2012
  5. The two scenarios are HILARIOUS!

    My phone is mostly on the vibration mode and my current ringtone is “Lucky” by Jason Mraz (ft. Colbie Caillat). And the message tone is just a little *beep*.

    September 4, 2012
    • That’s Colbie?! I’ve heard that song a thousand times and never knew that lol.

      Haha thank you Meghna!

      September 4, 2012
      • Happy to help 🙂

        You’re welcome!

        September 5, 2012
  6. You come up with the funniest, but truly commonly awkward things in life. Bravo!

    My ringtone is of an old-fashioned telephone. Hard to be embarrassed by that…yet.

    September 5, 2012
    • THANK YOU Lorna, that means a lot coming from you 🙂

      September 6, 2012

Comments are closed.

