Skip to content
Do they really look that awkward together?

You know what they say, “To every man his lemonade.”

Darn it, I thought that was going to work.

Ok, so its only me that says that, but I’m trying to start a thing. Anyway, it has been brought up multiple times that it is always a little bit awkward when the woman in the relationship is taller than the man. I see nothing wrong with it.

Alright, I see it now.

So its a bit odd, but tall girls have a lot to deal with already! One of the very first posts I read from a blogger friend had to do with her height, titled “Confessions of a Tall Girl” yes, after a bunch of searching I found it once more. In it, she tells about her experience growing up tall. There are a lot of accounts on Tumblr that talk about the topic. Along with that, there is a Twitter account dedicated to just that @tallgrlprblms. I guess you don’t really notice a problem until they come together on the internet.

Wait. Hold on.. do tall girls and short guys look THAT awkward together?

You guys are crazy! They look fine.

Sort of.

But who says the guy has to be taller than the girl? Sure, a large portion of women may say that, but why is that the case? You sciency people will say that its something biological and that women want someone to blah blah… but why don’t men look for a taller woman? Maybe men do, but subconsciously realize that we’ll get shot down. Haha! That sucks. Women are jerks. (Just kidding!)

Yes, Marc Anthony and Jennifer Lopez have had that going, and they looked fine. Jennifer still wouldn’t let go of those high heels.. but I don’t know, I guess its a personal thing.

To every man his lemonade.

What do you guys think?

Are you a tall girl? Do you want a taller guy?

————

Are any of you guys on Tumblr? Check out AwkwardListBlog.tumblr.com! Its new, its awkward, and.. uh, you’ll be cool if you look at it. You DO want to be cool, right? And don’t worry, I’m not leaving WordPress!

Awkward Awesome Posts:

21 Comments
  1. I wud prefer taller guys, any day!! Atleast, we can keep the heels!! 🙂

    July 26, 2012
    • Women and their heels.. haha 🙂

      July 27, 2012
  2. Short girl with a tall guy here. My auntie em is over six feet tall. Her husband is just under five. They are darling, and their daughter towers over her daddy.

    July 27, 2012
    • They sound awesome already 🙂

      Thanks for reading!

      Edwin

      July 27, 2012
  3. I am a tall girl. Amazonian in stature, in fact. The shortest guy I’ve ever dated was about 5’9-1/2″. And I include the “1/2″ inch because HE made sure to remind me. All the time.

    I really didn’t feel that insecure about it. But he clearly did!

    My best friend is 6 feet tall. She married a man who is 4’11”.

    Of course, they’re now divorced…

    😉

    July 27, 2012
    • Wow. Yeah huh, maybe its all the men’s fault here..

      lol.

      They divorced? Darn it. I liked the height combination.

      July 27, 2012
  4. My brother-in-law married a tall girl, and yes, they look awkward together…

    July 27, 2012
    • Does she resort to flat shoes now? Haha. Some tall girls STILL keep their heels while going out with a shorter guy.. I think that’s funny.

      Edwin

      July 27, 2012
      • She’s always worn flip flops/flats with him & she still towers over him.

        July 28, 2012
  5. I’m a shorty ( 5’3″ ) . Well, I’m Asian, lol… I’m hoping to get me some tall DNA for my future kids, he he. That’s all.

    July 27, 2012
  6. I only date taller men. However, I’m 5’3 – so anything shorter than that is like a midget.

    July 28, 2012
    • Hi Summer!

      How about your same height… hmm? haha

      July 28, 2012
  7. HAHAHAHA dude awesome post! I have always had a thing for girls taller to me :O keep it a secret between us? 🙂
    I want to see more of tall girls short guys relationship in the world. height doesn’t make you the person you are =]

    July 28, 2012
    • Yeah!! *thumbs up* you tall girls are pretty cool, right!? I’d like to see more of those couples also, because they do what they want and don’t care about what others think 😀

      “Height doesn’t make you the person you are” well said.

      Thank you!

      Edwin

      July 28, 2012
  8. Hi Edwin….interesting post!
    I’m 5’6″ and hubby is 5’10”.
    We are both very happy with that situation, and wouldn’t want there to be much more difference in our heights.
    My brother and SIL are about a foot apart in height, brother is the taller one. That seems way too far apart, but…to each their own 🙂

    July 29, 2012
    • Hi!

      That’s true, some people like a huge height difference even though I could see it requiring some adjustments with certain things haha.

      Thanks a lot for the comment 🙂

      Edwin

      July 29, 2012
  9. I am tall, and will always wear my heels – 4″ or better please. I love getting in an elevator and being 6’3 in my shoes and towering over others. Alpha thing perhaps… I’ve dated taller men and shorter men and admit I prefer taller. Nice to slow dance in heels and rest your head on the chest of a tall dude. Better than him resting his head on mine.

    July 29, 2012
    • Ooooh, youre tall! Do you get a lot of comments about your height? :p

      Thanks,

      Edwin

      July 29, 2012
  10. chunter #

    One of the guys who ran the dinner theater used to ask to dance with women of a specific height to make sure he had a direct view of their…. endowments.

    There was a couple who were regular customers at a former retail job where the man was gigantic, near seven feet tall and nearly as wide, the girl tiny, maybe four and a half feet. What my coworkers wondered aloud behind their backs isn’t fit to put here.

    July 29, 2012
    • Wow! HAHA I’ve seen a couple just like that! And that’s true.. how would they.. um..

      Anyway, that guy is funny.. and pervy. LOL.

      Edwin

      July 29, 2012
  11. i am a little over six foot. almost six foot one inch. i never wore heels. i was always self conscience about the looks i get because of how all i am. I have been this height since I was 14 years old. I always wanted to rock a pair of heels, i have yet to even try on a pair. i doubt i could find a pair to fit my size eleven foot though. anyway! all of the guys that i have dated in the past have been around five six or five seven. That didn’t stop me from dating them, but it never felt right with me. I know I have my own stuff to work out with myself and I am getting there. My current boyfriend is my exact height. I have never been more comfortable with anyone, aside from some family, before in my life. I doubt it is the height issue but as a tall girl i can relate. sorry for the ramble. i end to get off topic at times.

    July 30, 2012

Comments are closed.

