Skip to content
My Catch Phrase

suit up

suit up (Photo credit: brennuskrux)

What’s your catch phrase?Β 

You know, that one thing that you’re always saying.. that eventually all your friends start saying because of how often they hear it.

Here are some of the common ones:

Obviously. I totally agree. To be honest. So rad. Legit. Your mom. Fools. At any rate. Freakin’. Totally. Definitely. Oh, I see. Really? That’s funny. Awesome. So random.Β 

 

Everyone has their own thing that they do that identifies them as them. It might not be a phrase, but maybe an action. A certain way they smile or react to something, or even a distinct tone or accent works.. and its what those people that imitate celebrities and cartoonists take advantage of to do their work! Its always a bit weird thinking about ourselves like that..

If someone was to impersonate you, what would they do or say?

Its awkward just seeing ourselves do the things we do! What do you think about when you’re watching yourself on a home video? I bet you go straight to thinking how weird you actually sound, and wonder why your parents ever let you out of the house with a voice like that. Ugh, ever hear yourself in a voice recorder? Not cool!

Awkward Awesome Posts:

34 Comments
  1. I think I have a million phrases..and normally i could think of them, but i can’t I’ll get back to you when I remember or someone reminds me…

    July 20, 2012
    • Hi! And alrighty.. sounds good. I’ll wait.

      Did you think of them yet? haha just kidding. πŸ™‚

      Thanks for reading!

      Edwin

      July 20, 2012
      • idk ill have to ask someone to tell me what they are, because i say them and dont realize

        July 24, 2012
        • I went around asking what mine were, and they said “Uncool” “holy crap” and “are you freakin serious?” hahaha

          July 27, 2012
  2. I have a boss who “knows everything” when he comes to show me something that I already know I tell him, “I’ve been here before”. It has caught on and he gets frustrated everytime he hears it…from anyone.

    July 20, 2012
    • HAHA!

      That is way awesome! The phrase stuck, heck yes. Hmm.. feel kinda bad for him now.

      ..actually, no I don’t. lol

      Thanks for this!

      Edwin

      July 20, 2012
  3. Go figure πŸ™‚

    July 21, 2012
    • Hahaha

      July 27, 2012
  4. no fuckin way…

    July 21, 2012
    • lol

      July 27, 2012
  5. chunter #

    Like all slang, I think this sort of thing rotates, but I understand what you’re talking about. In fact, some of them tie into my line of work, including “I understand…,” or “Is there something else I can help with?”

    When I lived in the midwest many of the people I lived with or worked around would be tickled when I say something in a manner they aren’t accustomed to hearing but otherwise was nothing too out of the ordinary for me. By living in different parts of the country, my vocabulary gets mixed and blended in such a way that I don’t know what comes from where anymore.

    July 21, 2012
    • Haha that must be awesome, to have a mix of vocabulary. Yeah that’s true.. It DOES change, hadn’t thought of that. Did you ever live in places where they refer to “soda” as “pop” or “pop” as “coke” or.. what ever?

      Pop. LOL

      Edwin

      July 27, 2012
      • chunter #

        All three, I use them interchangeably though I say “coke” the least (because I don’t drink actual Coca-Cola very much) and “soda” the most.

        July 27, 2012
        • No way! That’s so awesome! I find “pop” so funny. πŸ˜€

          July 27, 2012
  6. Not so much with catch phrase, maybe with action. Whenever I notice someone watches TV sideways tilting the head at an angle, I know for sure I am being mimicked upon. Yeah, that’s really a weird and disgusting habit I can’t get myself to stop… Just hopeless!

    July 22, 2012
    • Just imagining it makes me laugh.. tilting the head while watching TV. Haha, one of my friends used to do that when he was “listening intensely”. We did the same thing to him haha.

      Thanks!

      Edwin

      July 27, 2012
  7. I always say “alright guys i gotta jet…” or “i’m jettin yall” & now my friends call me, “the Jet” haha. i’m actually working on getting Jet legalized as my middle name haha.

    July 22, 2012
    • That is hilarious! Gotta jet.. haha.

      No but seriously. Gotta jet.

      lol

      Edwin

      July 27, 2012
      • lol you’re so cool edwin. i think i’ll call you jet from now on lol

        July 28, 2012
  8. I am so popular for my catch phrases, my friends pull my leg all the time…may be i cud write a book with catch phrases..But my oft repeated thing has to be “Are you crazy”, “What the heck” “what rubbish”,”oh crap” to reiterate a few…phew! πŸ™‚

    July 22, 2012
    • “What rubbish” has got to be my favorite in there. Haha

      July 27, 2012
  9. I have WAY to many to even go into it. My Lovely Bride could give you dozens about me. And I LOVE catch phrases, so I’m not about to stop now. hehehe

    July 26, 2012
    • Its what makes us unique. Probably. Probably not. But they’re still awesome!

      Thanks!

      Edwin

      July 27, 2012
  10. I think I always say ” What the heck”… …. I need to change… I’m getting old.

    July 26, 2012
    • I had to un-spam you! What’s up with THAT? You’re freakin’ awesome! How dare WordPress do this.. lol. Make sure you check with other people about this, a couple of bloggers around here have been having the same problem.

      Anyway, HEY, “What the heck” is one of mine also!

      Thanks!

      Edwin

      July 27, 2012
      • Testing… testing….

        July 27, 2012
        • Got it!

          Are your comments showing up on other blogs?

          July 27, 2012
          • On some, no. 3 or 4 blogs that I have subscribed to.

            July 27, 2012
      • Great ! Finally !

        I wonder why… some sites hate me. O.O”

        July 27, 2012
        • I wonder why it did that.. my spam settings are the default ones. Hmm.. Well I’m glad you can comment here again πŸ™‚

          July 27, 2012
  11. Oh catch phrases…how I love thee. SOme of my go-to’s include: “Oh my stars”, “no way!”, “fo sho”, “that’s legit son”, “holy guacomole”, “yah you betcha and I knooow (said in the most midwestern accents of all midwestern accents) and yes, I am one of ‘those’ who insists that it is POP, not soda or Coke πŸ˜‰

    August 15, 2012
    • Oh my stars! You call it pop?! Hahaha! I find that word so FITTING but it sounds too foreign to me πŸ˜€

      I can definitely imagine that accent, now THAT’S funny! lol

      Edwin

      August 15, 2012
    • Harrington #

      My story with began, I loved my my boyfriend so much but he never loved me rather he travelled with another girl to unknown destination, I was all over the internet trying to find who could help me out with my situation but no results at all or little signs, I have to admit I was about to give up on him, then one day I was making a search on a google i found dr.marnish@yahoo.com in the internet where he had helped many girls who had the same issue with me, when i contacted him he said he will help me and just as he said after But 3 days after the the spell was done, I received an email from my boyfriend and that’s when things really changed he stopped his bad habit, We came back together and I was astounded because so many say they are the best but can’t back it. but dr.marnish really surprised me with his spell, i want to testify today about the seriousness of dr marnish
      Harrington, England

      June 7, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Awkward Goodbyes | AwkwardList

Comments are closed.

