Skip to content
When a person falls asleep next to you on the bus

Happy Monday, all!

We had some interesting discussions this past week via comments on what happens when you write what you’re thinking about instead of what you mean to write, but like Tim showed us, people also SAY the wrong things and it can lead you straight into awkwardness (and make you pay for someone else’s gas.. err, petrol). And like Venom and PCC mentioned, it can be difficult to have people speaking around you while you’re trying to write. We’re all getting signs made: “If you see me writing, please no talking”.

Anyway, my morning commute was awkward this morning, and I think it was karma doing its thing. You see, last week, I was laughing in the bus because some guy was falling asleep on a young girl sitting by the window. She kept adjusting herself trying to wake him up but the guy was knocked out! It was hilarious!

But then this morning:

20120625-100716.jpg

What do you do when they begin to lean on you?

I nudge them the other way, though I once did let some old guy lean on me. Oh and one time I pushed a guy too far and he almost fell.

What about when you reach your stop?

Waking them up is a little awkward, especially since they’re super confused afterwards.

Has this ever happened to you? Are you the sleeper?

13 Comments
  1. First of all. . . Yay, I am mentioned here! ^_^

    This has happened to me before while coming back from a school trip. Luckily, all the sleepers (yes, they were plenty) were friends of mine or at least colleagues. I would have slept too if not for the iced coffee I’d drank earlier (back when coffee had an awakening effect on me). I let them sleep there, but if it were with strangers, well. . . I am honestly not sure what I would do. I guess if it’s an old person (i.e. in their eighties kinda old) I would let them in peace, but other than that. . . No! 😀

    June 25, 2012
    • Oh school trips. When you finally decide to fall asleep, someone comes around with the evil camera phone and create memories.. HAHAHA!

      Thanks!

      Edwin

      June 25, 2012
      • I’m glad I didn’t sleep on trip buses =D but I’ve done this thing you speak of a time or two =P

        June 26, 2012
        • *GASP!* hahaha

          June 27, 2012
  2. I’m usually the sleeper but I am very subtle about it.

    June 25, 2012
    • As long as you’re not a drooler, you sound like an awesome bus buddy. 🙂

      June 25, 2012
  3. JAC #

    That happens to me on planes. It’s weird when they snore too. And when the person who is snoring happens to be the person you are with…it’s embarrassing.

    June 25, 2012
    • Oh yeah!

      People that snore make it super embarrassing I know what you mean! They look so peaceful, but once in a while they sound like they’re gonna choke.. get silent for a bit, then continue the snoring.

      I suggest fake sneezing to wake em up hahaha 🙂

      Thanks for the comment!

      Edwin

      June 25, 2012
  4. Thankfully i am not the sleeper. But hell ya, I always end up sitting next to ‘sleepers’.And its funny because I try to balance their weight on me and have to brace myself from falling off my seat!!Ridiculous!

    June 26, 2012
  5. I don’t like people touching me at all when I’m on a bus, a plane, etc. so when this happens, it drives me crazy! When someone starts to fall asleep and begins leaning towards me, I give them a dirty look like I’m all annoyed with them (which I am), and then I shove them a bit (or a lot) so that they move over.

    I don’t feel badly about it. I’m a jerk to be a passenger with…haha.

    June 27, 2012
    • Haha!

      Shove them a little or a lot.. hahahaha! Well that’s good if people think you’re a jerk, you might end up with two seats for yourself 🙂

      Edwin

      June 27, 2012
  6. I wish I could sit on the bus in a bubble, I usually get really weird men sitting next to me who ask if I want candy from their pockets. I have never accepted their candy. Once I said it was against my religion. But if someone fell asleep on me, I would probably just sit there with a “help me” expression on my face. And I would obviously have to stay on the bus forever.

    June 27, 2012
    • Obviously.

      AGAINST YOUR RELIGION??!! Hahahaha x1000!

      That just made my day!

      🙂

      June 27, 2012

Comments are closed.

