Skip to content
A refund for the time I spent learning cursive, please.

Every once in a while, I actually write by hand. Actually the only time I do it is when I have to sign something, or when I’m taking notes in class.

Do you fellow bloggers like to write by hand?

I used to do it all the time back when our essays actually had to be handwritten and word processed work was a twice-a-year thing. I actually looked forward to typing them up, but even back then we had to write them first by hand, and THEN type them up. I like to write, but it did come with a few difficulties along the way…

Cursive

Sometimes I wish that we could get a refund for the time we spent learning cursive. Our teachers emphasized it so much, they made us think that in high school, cursive would be the only allowed writing-style. Then, after 4th grade, I never saw it again. Pheew..

Peer Editing

“Alright students, pick a partner, and trade papers” oh how I hated those words. Well first of all, picking a partner is awkward already, but then letting them see our grammatical errors and give them the Power of the Red Pen? Horrible stuff.

Writing a Word You Don’t Mean to Writeย 

Have you ever been writing something, then someone asks you a question and you write what you meant to say, not what you meant to write? (Whoa, did that question make sense?) Sometimes I’m typing up a post here on WordPress and it happens.. and sometimes it happens when I’m trying to text somebody (more on that in a later post :] )

That Awkward Moment When..

You cross something out instead of underlining it.

“This would never happen on MS Word!”

But yes, I’ve done it, and for some reason, I keep doing it. Sometimes I THINK I’m doing a good job on it, and the line looks near perfect under the word.. and then it gets crooked and goes right up to cross it out. Umph.

17 Comments
  1. Yep, I know exactly what you mean about typing what I’m trying to yeah I saw the Heat / Thunder game and I don’t particularly oops, sorry, just did it again. I was just talking to the husband there about the NBA game I didn’t particularly care about. Yeah, I sometimes type what I’m saying instead of what I meant to type. Weird how that happens, guess my mind can’t focus on two separate things at once.

    June 21, 2012
    • Lilee!

      Hahaha! I know what you mean, it happens a lot when I’m texting also.. the weird thing is that I know some people can do both things! How is that even possible?!

      Thanks for the comment!

      Edwin

      June 21, 2012
  2. Sometimes I wonder about the next generation not needing to learn how to spell, it seems like everything gets abbreviated into acronyms they can understand even though I’m lost.

    June 21, 2012
    • “LOL”

      I know exactly what you mean! I wonder why only few people are concerned about that.. and another thing, phones and computers correct us anyway, why would future generations consider spelling important?

      I’m worried hahaha

      Thanks!

      Edwin

      June 22, 2012
      • Yay! I love this kind of fun dorky side! It’s the greatest ๐Ÿ™‚ And I think you have nice hnatwriding. But I’m with ya, I wish I could write cool fun letters lol.Have a Happy Thanksgiving! ๐Ÿ™‚

        February 14, 2013
  3. I’m wondering if anyone reads anymore. Books are becoming obsolete with kindle and I miss those musty bookstores so much.

    June 21, 2012
  4. Another nice post today thanks. I really enjoyed reading it very much. Have a great day.

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today!

    Writers Wanted

    June 21, 2012
  5. I did the say what I’m thinking thing recently. I was at a gas station and was going to put $20 in and the customer at the register next to me said “$20 on 3” (I forget what number exactly) and I was going to say “$20 at 1” but accidently said “$20 on 3” right after she did. It’s worth noting that she was only a foot away. And she looked over quizzically (as did the two cashiers) as I corrected myself.

    June 21, 2012
    • HAHAHAHA!

      Talk about awkward! Sometimes we don’t even notice that we said something we didn’t mean to say, and its only when your mind begins to wonder why they’re looking at you so weird that you realize it..

      “Excuse me?”
      “I said 20 on 1”
      “Oh, you said 20 on 3”
      “I did?”

      Awkward.. hahaha thanks for sharing that!

      Edwin

      June 22, 2012
  6. I write words that I mean to say ALL THE TIME!! That’s why, if I’m writing, I stop speaking and I ask everyone around me to stop talking otherwise I’ll write down the words THEY are saying…haha.

    Also, I stopped writing cursive after high school – my handwriting is terrible (really very terrible) and it’s difficult for me to read, let alone anyone else! So, everything is typed now.

    Another great post, Edwin! As usual. ๐Ÿ™‚

    June 22, 2012
    • Haha!

      “Ok everybody STOP TALKING!!! … … I have to write a text message ๐Ÿ™‚ ”

      So funny ๐Ÿ˜€

      Thank you!

      Edwin

      June 22, 2012
  7. I like to write by hand. Sometimes when I’m outisde, a thought would just strike me and I have to write it down before it escapes. But in general, I enjoy writing by hand. I write in cursive most of the time, though.

    I’ve written things I meant to say or said things I meant to write, too. I guess this should teach people not to talk to me while I’m writing something.

    June 22, 2012
    • You like writing by hand also, woo hoo!

      Maybe you should get a sign made:

      “Please, NO talking while I’m writing something.”

      haha ๐Ÿ˜›

      June 22, 2012
      • That would be nice. . . no talking while I’m writing OR reading something, mind you ๐Ÿ˜€

        June 22, 2012
        • Oh, yes. And reading.. hahaha! Maybe I need a sign too ๐Ÿ™‚

          June 22, 2012
  8. I am the one of the worlds worst cursive handwriter-ers ever. I actually used to be really afraid that we would have to use it in high school, but it never came up as a must have for a hand written paper. Then I went to college and they taught us to write “Architecturally” I have never gone back to cursive… and, I think cursive writing, is living a happy life somewhere with teenagers who are writing boys names on their science folders.

    June 27, 2012
    • I couldn’t have said it better myself!

      I remember when girls would do that, it was both creepy and .. weird, well until I found my name on a folder, then it was cool.

      I can’t even READ cursive hahaha

      Edwin

      June 27, 2012

Comments are closed.

