Skip to content
Raise your hand to speak (or not)

Professors have the coolest job. They get to pass on knowledge to students that will eventually make some huge difference in the world, they get to intimidate people whenever they want, they’re respected (or feared)…

…and they get to make you look pretty dumb in front of everyone. Sometimes even without meaning to.
You raise your hand to ask a question, and the professor doesn’t notice, but everyone else does.. so you’re stuck in this awkward position and must decide how to continue: Will you keep your hand up until he notices? Will you bring it back down?

As awesome as it sounds to say that you would speak up, you usually don’t, admit it. You just sit there with your hand up, and start to wonder how you must look like to everyone else.

I guess it could be worse. Wait a minute, I know it can be worse. Have you ever actually asked something at what you considered to be an appropriate volume, and your professor straight out ignores you? It happened to me over and over with the same professor one semester.
In her defense, she was partially deaf. Everyone kept telling me that she had said that in the beginning, but I guess I didn’t hear her. It got pretty funny sometimes, which left us feeling like the meanest people on the planet.
I feel horrible.
Ok anyway, despite all of those awkward moments in a classroom, the one I still clearly remember to this day is raising my hand to answer something super matter-of-factly and getting it wrong. Way to go me.
16 Comments
  1. I STILL do that, LoL 🙂

    March 10, 2012
    • 🙂

      March 14, 2012
  2. Once I had this architectural theory class that the teacher made us get into groups… And he called the group by my name, unfortunately he would do this when my friends answered questions, My male friends hated being told, “Great job Lauren’s group”. I however found so much joy in this 🙂

    March 10, 2012
    • I bet!

      That is too awesome.. you go girl! (whoa.. who says that nowadays!). Thanks for the comment Lauren! Architecture is so cool..

      March 14, 2012
  3. LOL I have totally been in that situation. The best part is that now that I am a sub I get to inflict the same torture. Although usually it just me ignoring the hand of a kid who I know is not going to ask a legitimate question (despite him waving his hand furiously back and forth and me making it obvious I am ignoring this) or the kid has already given five answers to the assignment we are discussing and I REALLY need to make sure someone else is a live. Yet he still sits there with his hand up…until I say “I KNOW you know the answer” ……Now I know why Snape hated Hermione Granger so much. Ridiculously long comment–DONE

    March 11, 2012
    • Hahaha! Harry Potter..

      So you guys do that on purpose?!

      Ugh, its so embarrassing when you raise your hand and the teacher says “anybody else?” .. lol. No matter what though, I would always hate it when they randomly called on me though, I’d never get the answer right!

      March 14, 2012
  4. Funny! ED! Great

    March 11, 2012
    • Hi!

      Thank you! I really appreciate your comments 🙂 You’re great!

      Edwin

      March 14, 2012
  5. I like the new look of your blog, man!

    March 11, 2012
    • Thank you Sharon!

      March 14, 2012
  6. Haha. Saying that, it’s not awkward, but I hate when people put their hand up in lectures, get ignored by the professor, and then say their opinion anyway.

    That’s worse than awkward. That’s pretentious.

    March 12, 2012
    • Oooh.. good word. Hey, that’s a good point, they speak up even if they don’t get called on is BLAH!

      Edwin

      March 14, 2012
  7. I can totally relate to this!
    Love your awkward scenarios.
    Thanks for following my blog, looking forward to following yours 🙂

    March 12, 2012
    • Thanks Trixie! Your blog is awesome!

      March 14, 2012
  8. I never raised my hand in class even though I knew the answer. I liked to avoid any unnecessary blushing. 😉

    March 13, 2012
    • Ha! Not a risk taker, huh? Eh, I’m right there with you half the time.. haha

      Edwin

      March 14, 2012

Comments are closed.

