Skip to content
108. Awkward Moments in Middle School

..Middle school has its awkward moments.

The bell buzzed.

I guess it can no longer be called a bell if it doesn’t ring, but I’m so used to the bell at Glazier Elementary that it still feels strange to call that thing a buzzer. Instead of ringing for recess, it will buzz for “nutrition”. It even sounds boring that way. Middle school will be different. We no longer have just one principal and support staff, but a principal and two assistant principals plus a staff that all look equally scary.

“That bell isn’t for us,” some tall kid said, who apparently still had the whole buzzer and bell thing confused, “our classes start at 8:20 A.M.”

“Thanks man,” I responded, “but I still have to find the HR, what ever that is.”

“I think it stands for home room, my older brother says that we will have more than one teacher so I guess that’s where we will meet first,” he said, “I got room 196, you?”

“196, I guess we’re in the same room.”

And so my first day in middle school started. We found the home room, had our dumb introductions (name, what school you come from and an interesting fact about yourself), broke in our brand new notebooks and pencils, and went through the usual uncomfortable first day stuff. I had absolutely no idea about the awkward moments waiting to happen in the next three years of middle school.

It didn’t take long for me to realize that I was not in elementary school anymore. A question many of us had but did not dare to ask was “where the heck is the playground?” all we saw was a bunch of benches and other areas to sit. Were they expecting us to sit around and actually talk to each other? It reminded me of how strange it was to think that older people sat around just listening to music. At least we weren’t being pressured into eating the horrible cafeteria lunches anymore. All the cool kids didn’t eat cafeteria lunch. There were many other differences, such as the introduction of school security, increased seriousness in the word detention, and the creation of cliques. I remember asking for cooler-looking underwear since I would be changing in and out of gym clothes in front of other kids. And it all went crazy from there.

You see, middle school is supposed to be filled with awkward moments. There are kids that still haven’t hit their growth spurt, so you end up with a random assortment of short and tall kids. You cannot tell the difference between a sixth grader and an eighth grader just by looking at their height. Some kids are freaking out because of the first signs of pimples. Some girls actually have boobs now and some are flat out ..well, flat. Some guys have the whole deep voice thing going, some sound comically feminine, and others are still experiencing heavy voice cracking. Everyone goes through a bunch of changes in their bodies, some more embarrassing and more noticeable than others.

Suddenly the opposite sex doesn’t seem that bad, but the thought of a boyfriend or girlfriend seems way too serious for your age. Of course, there are those exceptions out there that claim to already have had 4 girlfriends and are not afraid to write love letters and ask someone out to the dances where girls stand near one wall, and the guys stand by the opposite one.  For the first time ever, you experience what its like to blush at the sound of someone’s name and have those perfectly planned conversations in your head completely fail after the first word. And then you figure out what it feels like when she starts liking some other guy who probably plays basketball and sort of has facial hair and all you have going for yourself is the top score in your pre-algebra test and band trophies and it leaves you bummed for a whole two days! Ahem. Uh, anyways..

Middle school is a planned chaos. It appears as though the school system thought to itself:

Hmm.. kids are usually going through a lot of things between the ages of 11-13, lets put them in a school together, yes this is a great idea!

But it didn’t kill us, so I’ll trust the guy that came up with the quote and assume it made us stronger. No more unoriginal yearbook signings that say “Hope you have a great summer! See you next year! K.I.T.” or the need to take food out of your braces. It must be safe now to say congratulations, you made it through some of the most awkward years of your life!

What awkward moments do you remember about your middle school/junior high life?

Image source

20 Comments
  1. Middle school is definitely awkward. I substitute in middle schools now and even with the addition of electronic devices–it is still awkward.

    I just remember that at my school every grade had a hallway….you didn’t dare leave your hallway if you didn’t have to.

    February 20, 2012
    • Oh no.. you substitute in those schools?!

      I kinda like that idea of the hallways.. those 8th graders looked way too tall to be in the same school as the rest of us.

      I remember once, we pretended to be an all Spanish-speaking class and actually convinced our substitute teacher that it was true. Probably the funniest thing that ever happened in middle school..

      Thanks for the comment 🙂

      Edwin

      February 22, 2012
      • Here I would actually believe because we have some schools that are 70% Hispanic! 🙂 I bet it was hilarious!!

        February 23, 2012
  2. I’ve blocked those days from my memory–it’s a self-esteem survival technique. 😉

    February 20, 2012
    • …wish I could block those days from my memory. Teach me your ways! 🙂

      February 22, 2012
  3. In my senior year of high school, our district opened the middle school. This means that I went to a school that ran from years 7 through 12, with notable effects. The most obvious consequence I recall is that I liked a girl who was a sophomore in high school while I was still in eighth grade, and after a while, we actually dated…
    like I reh many others. The problems with that sort of education is self-evident

    February 20, 2012
    • Speaking of awkward, messed up comment! I think the awkwardness of middle school age explains itself: people simply do not grow and develop at the same rate, and I don’t think strategized education deals with that very well. Maybe that’s just how that support of thing is supposed to be after all.

      February 20, 2012
    • Dated an older girl when you were in eighth grade?! You are my hero! Haha

      February 22, 2012
  4. Ohhhhhh the awkwardness of an interesting fact about yourself…
    And it never ends! I just went to Africa to volunteer and on the first night everyone in the group had to introduce themselves, say what uni they go to and give an interesting fact about themselves.
    If this happens when I start working full-time im going to quit.

    February 21, 2012
    • Way to go.. you’re one of the nice people 🙂 volunteering in Africa? That is very noble.

      I’m afraid that saying something interesting about yourself is never going to go away.. lol. And that makes a great idea for a blog post! Thanks!

      Edwin

      February 22, 2012
      • Hahaha, volunteering yes. But also spending a large amount of time getting drunk beside the pool. Which isn’t so noble.

        I’m glad I helped with the blog, but I’m still disappointed that I will have to make up facts about myself to stay interesting…

        February 23, 2012
      • Oh, I’m sure 90% of the things you hear during the “Interesting thing about yourself” section are made up.. hahaha. I’ll stick with my “I once trained to be a lion tamer” lol

        February 26, 2012
  5. What do I remember as being the most awkward thing about Middle School? The kitten sweaters my Mom would make me wear for picture day because my Grandmother had given it to me.

    I’m scarred for life. I now hate kitten sweaters. And plain sweaters. And kittens.

    (By the way, I think is my favourite post that you’ve ever written, Edwin! Great job!) 🙂

    February 21, 2012
    • No way!!!!

      Hahahaha! Sorry for laughing, but that is way too funny! 😀

      And thank you 🙂

      Edwin

      February 22, 2012
  6. So awkward. But that is when I decided it was alright to be weird. And I’ve never looked back!

    February 21, 2012
    • You make a viciously sweet point, miss. It is perfectly alright to be weird, and I think I discovered that I was “different” during that era also, haha.

      At least some good stuff came out of middle school..

      Thanks for the comment!

      Edwin

      February 22, 2012
  7. LUcy Lane #

    Middle school, those were the days. NO they stunk. My crush broke my heart 😦

    June 27, 2012
    • I hear ya.. well it’s all over now 🙂

      Thank you for the comment!

      Edwin

      June 27, 2012
  8. Hunter #

    that one about the top pre-algebra test score and band trophies sound EXACTLY like me…

    July 5, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 47. Walking into a spider web | Awkward List

Comments are closed.

