Skip to content
Taking the bus

So I went on a journey to discover more awkward moments, and after much–

OK. So I got busy with a bunch of things, and awkward stuff started happening. One morning, I was heading school on the bus in Santa Monica, California when the lady next to me sneezes.

–Oh, before I continue, let me update you on some stuff that has changed around here:

  • Simple Menu- The menu at the top of the homepage got reduced to 4 items: Homepage, Awkward Moments, Ideas, and About.
  • Awkward Moments– This page includes images, quotes and cool stuff in a gallery format! You HAVE to check it out!
  • The Ice Cream Cone- This thing is blue for now, as well as the background.. just because blue is cool.
  • Facebook and Twitter- Be sure to Like the Facebook page and follow me @edwincov on Twitter! Just keeping up with the times.. oh and check out the #AwkwardList hashtag. It looks pretty empty right now.. eh, oh well.
Alright, onto my story:

“Bless you,” I said.

“Thank you. Oh my, I was just over in North Carolina and boy, do where do I even start? Well let’s see.. ”

And she went on about how cold it was over there and tried to convince me that she wasn’t sick, even though she had just sneezed and sounded like she really needed to blow her nose. She told me about her son and her family, and how her dog brought home a duck one day. After my stop was finally announced, I said,

“Well, it was nice talking to you. I hope you enjoy the weather here,” and I stepped out and headed for the next bus stop.

After sitting on the bench, I turn around and see her again.

“Well you were so nice, I just thought I’d follow you –no, just kidding. This was also my stop” she said.

Does that ever happen to you guys? Saying bye to someone and then not actually leaving?

I was heading home one day, when I saw a nerdy guy approach a pretty girl on the bus and suffered for him as I watched him have a short awkward conversation about school and his video game team of some sort. It actually happened like it does in the movies, with the guy stuttering and calling himself an idiot and everything. If that’s not awkward enough for you, check out what happened next:

*Next stop, Sepulveda Blvd.*

“Alright, well it was nice talking to you Alyssa. I’ll see you in school” he said, while waving at her.

“Bye Raymond” she said, smiling.

Raymond took one step away from her and waited at the door. But it didn’t open. No one pulled the “Stop Requested” cable thing that all buses have, and Raymond must have forgotten to do it himself in his nervousness. Oh no.. awkward.

Many awkward things happen on buses.. do you have any stories?

 

3 Comments
  1. Not buses, but sneezes.

    I was at a restaurant. There was a table of Catholic nuns and priests next to me. A lady at another table sneezes. Who says, “God bless you?” Me (the atheist at the time). Not one of the table of the Lord’s shepherds!

    February 13, 2012
  2. Hahaha!!! That’s hilarious!

    February 13, 2012
  3. Kyle Stewart #

    hahaha! This is hilarious!

    Following you……..

    February 16, 2012

Comments are closed.

