Skip to content
102. A misleading profile picture

So one of the most common things that people hanging around Facebook all day tend to do is look at pictures. Now even Twitter has a special spot for images also, yeah! I guess we also log in to see what’s new and what people are saying about each other, but that is not my point.

There are a lot of misunderstandings that happen online, and one of the ones that I find funny is the misleading profile picture.

For example, here is a hypothetical situation. Jon is looking at a girl’s pictures on Facebook and Bob walks in:

Bob: Whoa dude! Nice! Who’s profile is that?
Jon: Haha! No man, she doesn’t look like that.
Bob: What? That’s her picture, right?
Jon: Yes, but that’s not what she looks like.
Bob: Ohh.. gotcha. I know what you mean.

Do YOU know what he means? Let me explain.

When this girl was getting ready to add a profile picture, she chose the one that makes her look her best. Perfect lighting, no visible pimples, heck, maybe even some cleavage. If she was taking the picture herself, she must have gone through a lot. And yes, this applies to guys also! C’mon, you know you’re also guilty for this. But hey, its normal. People do that all the time.

And that is probably not the first time you hear, or notice, something like that.. its been happening for a long time. If you’ve seen a news reporter live, you would say that they look older and very different, as well as your favorite band live.

It would be awesome if everyone looked like they do on their profile picture. I guess its just something we have to live with. Oh and don’t call them out directly.. that’s just mean.

Image source
8 Comments
  1. Totally, that’s why I say go BEYOND facebook:)… http://beyondthefaceoffacebook.wordpress.com/2011/11/24/dear-chronic-daters-part-ii-my-new-home/

    December 5, 2011
  2. Haha!! That photo of the cat is hilarious! And, just for the record, I’d still be FB friends with a fat cat…his third chin is rather charming. 😉

    Another great post, my friend!

    December 5, 2011
  3. The truth is I don’t look at all like my profile picture…my hair is gray.

    December 5, 2011
  4. WIth photoshop all things are possible too…. 🙂

    December 5, 2011
  5. It’s called creative marketing, Baby! 😉

    December 6, 2011
  6. haha, Edwin! It’s all true!!!!

    December 6, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 104. Trying to pass a slow walker on the sidewalk | Awkward List
  2. Top 7 Most Awkward Moments on Facebook | AwkwardList

Comments are closed.

