Skip to content
97. Forgetting why you went into the room

Suddenly you get up, walk upstairs, step into your bedroom and.. awkwardly stand there.

Darn it, you were comfortably sitting on the couch, thinking about something awesome while The Price Is Right is on television but now you can’t remember why you went up there. Well, its not like forgetting didn’t cross your mind (whoa, that’s confusing). See, here is what probably happened:

Let us assume that you thought of something that you were going to get. You got up, and you still remembered it. You took a few steps and you still remembered it. Then something else caught your attention as you were heading toward the stairs.

“Uh oh!”

You forgot where you were going.

“Oh right, I’m going to my bedroom.” you thought. And then convinced yourself that you would remember why you were heading up there as soon as you stepped into the room. Yeah, that is a very good technique and I use it all the time. I guess in a way I just hope that whatever I was going to get in my room just kinda jumps out and says “Yo, I’m over here!”

And it works sometimes. Don’t you sometimes walk in and just stand there?

You stand there and scan the room from left to right. You take a couple of slow steps. For those of us that are hardcore, we walk out of the room and walk in again, hoping our memory will work this time. Some people might attempt to retrace his or her thoughts (think of it as retracing steps, except weirder.)

There it is! You went to get your cell phone.

Image source

13 Comments
  1. I was going to say something really witty…but I forgot. 😐

    November 1, 2011
    • That’s funny!

      Retrace your thoughts! 🙂

      November 1, 2011
  2. I understand this one. i do this a LOT! c

    November 1, 2011
  3. now who u gonna call?

    Yes! Just wait until you have kids! Your brain really goes then…wait what was I doing? I find myself forgetting what I wanted, determining it was the cell phone…that’s right…and then wondering why I needed the cell phone in the first place. Now why was it so important…or the keys, oh they are on the bathroom sink counter or in the fridge! Leaving stuff on top of your car is always awesome…OMG what was that…oh, it was my coffee…WAIT MY COFFEE! Oh, mannn! (then you secretly Thank God that it wasn’t your baby left on top of car)

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

    November 1, 2011
    • Sandi–

      You always bring up the ahhsomest ideas! “Leaving stuff on top of your car” is awesome and can get pretty awkward, I have a few of those stories! I know exactly what you’re talking about, have you ever left anything inside the fridge?

      I have.

      Edwin

      November 1, 2011
  4. I just hate hate hate it when this happens! This happened once when I was at work. I had to ask one of my co-workers on the other side of the door to remind me what I forgot once I walked through. They were all, “you can’t be serious”, but I so was. T.T

    November 1, 2011
    • HAHA!

      I make fun of the situation when someone else forgets why they went in there, but whenever its me it isn’t funny! Your co-workers sound like they have fun having you around 😛

      November 1, 2011
  5. Anybody that doesn’t have this happen to them just ain’t right–or maybe I am thinking of something else…what was the question…

    November 1, 2011
  6. Hahaha! “for those of us who are hardcore”. I do this a lot. And how much ever I try to “retrace my thoughts” it just is forgotten- until I come back and comfortably seat myself and start watching tv!

    November 2, 2011
    • Oh yeah! That’s what happens.. ugh, why does the thought come back to me once I’m back on the couch!? Thanks a lot for visiting, Apeetha!

      Edwin

      November 2, 2011
  7. This has happened too many times.

    November 4, 2011
  8. chunter #

    http://bps-research-digest.blogspot.com/2011/11/how-walking-through-doorway-increases.html

    November 6, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. When fat people call themselves fat | AwkwardList

Comments are closed.

