Skip to content
95. Being with the other job candidates in the waiting room

It is that time when people begin to look for jobs, and employers are looking around like crazy!

<– (picture on the left) Job interview at IKEA

Halloween stores magically show up (and then disappear), people begin to hire extra temporary personnel to aid with the stampedes during Black Friday, and companies that ship packages are forced to step it up with everyone sending fruit cakes to each other. But with every job comes an interview, and with every interview comes awkward moments, from having to shake hands when your palms are sweaty and that instant when you realize you’re talking too much during the employment process. The one that we will talk about today is that moment when you walk into the lobby and see the other job candidates. You are both going for the same position, what the heck should you talk about?

Well you should definitely greet each other, maybe that way they won’t give you negative vibes (hey, I believe in that stuff!), and yes, I understand that it can be pretty awkward. Here is what can make it worse:

You are wearing similar colors as if you all decided to match. It typically doesn’t matter too much for me, but women usually have a sense for these types of things. Its almost as if they choose their clothes specifically to not end up wearing the same thing as anyone else. I once encountered this situation at a group interview, and oh MAN it was funny. Both girls were wearing the same skirt/blouse thing; nobody would’ve noticed.. but one of them actually shouted “Oh my gosh!” and walked away to the bathroom.

He or she looks extremely confident and intimidating! Oh no, they got your job based on looks. Darn it, try again. Hahaha just kidding 🙂

They actually wish you luck when its your turn but you both know that they are actually wishing you the opposite. In order to make it seem normal, you must follow along with it. Isn’t that awkward? Oh jeez.

One of them comes out with a huge smile on their face making you assume that he actually got the job, and completely ruining the pumped-upness you gained by humming “Eye of the Tiger” in your mind.

Job interviews. We are forced to actually have face-to-face interaction! Why?

Image source

6 Comments
  1. I hate interviews ha ha ha…….I hate them so much I will rather leave my job and start my own company and then I will make life awkward for all my future employees waa haa haaa (insert evil laughter)…..

    October 18, 2011
  2. That seems like a cruel way to conduct interviews–funny, but cruel. I always went through the process under the cloak of secrecy–never knew who was my competitor. I don’t know which is worse, come to think of it…

    October 18, 2011
  3. I usually just talk with them. Sure I feel awkward, but not as awkward as they do when I’m super nice. 😀
    P.S. I liked the Eye of the Tiger part. ^^

    October 19, 2011
  4. I agree- that is always awkward. I recall, I took 4 hours of leave without explanation. I didn’t need to tell anyone why at the job I was at. It was for an interview. I showed up and had to sign in with reason for entrance into the building….”job interview”.

    When I came out, my supervisor was in the waiting room. He had an interview after me. He saw my name on the roster he had to sign, too- and then I saw him on the way out.

    We never talked about that.

    When I got back to the office, it was like we went to lunch. 🙂 I got the job. hahahahaha!

    October 23, 2011
  5. Oh, wow. Sure is awkward, hahaha. I was lucky enough to have my last interview conducted by phone because I live far, far away, and the company was so generous to let me have the option to be interviewed via phone!

    November 8, 2011
  6. OMG, I’ve been away from your blog for too long! I’ll sleep well tonight now that I’ve laughed myself out.

    December 15, 2011

Comments are closed.

