Skip to content
92. When your elbow slides off the edge of the desk

Classrooms can be pretty uncomfortable sometimes. It takes a while for us to reach that level of comfort, that state where we can just spend hours and hours sitting and listening. Well maybe not hours and hours, but you get the point. I’ve seen people with blankets, seat cushions, and even book stands in the classrooms. The funniest thing I heard recently was the story of a guy that carried an individual battery-operated fan to set on his desk during class. I like it when people do what they want.. it gets pretty funny sometimes. Some of us more normal people are perfectly fine by finding our comfortable seating position. For some, it is by keeping our elbow on the desk, and leaning our head against our hand. Sort of like an awkward headrest.

You can expect no complications with such action; things are pretty normal for the most part, except when gravity happens. Your big heavy head (you know who you are) moves and it can set your elbow to go a little too far and slide off the edge. It catches you by surprise, and BAM! Hahaha! You must now pretend like you were expecting it. Of course, no one will believe you.. I mean, you practically freaked out thinking that your head would fall onto the desk without forearm support.. which I guess COULD happen, right?

Dodge the stares, people. Dodge the stares.

[Thanks Alexandra]

Image source

5 Comments
  1. As a former college student and college professor, I’ve seen it happen. When I was a professor, I attributed such rare incidents to too much partying the night before–never to my lecture style, which was always entertaining. 😉

    Although I once had to wake a student up after he head-banged his desk and slept through the rest of the class. Unfortunately he was in the front row. Not good for anyone’s morale…

    September 29, 2011
    • Hi Lorna!

      HAHA! Poor guy.. and in the front row, I don’t know how that could get any worse. lol

      I’m sure you MUST have a ton of awkward school stories 🙂 Thanks for visiting!

      Edwin

      September 29, 2011
  2. That was more or less all of highschool social studies for me. Chin on jaw. Elbow sliding slowly to the edge of the desk. Then the sort of abrupt I’m-not-sleeping jerk upright and accompanying side-long glances. And I got busted every time!

    September 29, 2011
    • What is it about social studies that lulls people to sleep? I did the same thing!

      October 7, 2011
      • Hahahaha!

        October 7, 2011

Comments are closed.

