Skip to content
89. Thinking that your traffic light has turned green

..And pulling a little forward. But its still red.

While driving along with a few friends, we spotted a yellow chicken standing on the corner after stopping at an intersection. It was one of those walking advertisements for a car dealership, and it was waving at people. There was a green car in front of us, and a bright yellow car next to that car on the lane next to mine.

“Haha! Look at the chicken..! Honk at it!”

“No, that’s just weird, man.”

HONK! HONK!

The yellow car next to me did it. The green car pulled forward. Almost instantly, a bunch of other cars started honking from all directions, but not for the chicken. The driver of the green car must have thought yellow car was honking at him to let him know that his light had turned green, but it was still red and he just went for it. He made it across the street and pulled over to the side, probably to let the adrenaline rush fade away; he survived crossing a busy intersection on red! Nice!

Sometimes traffic signals are confusing though, I’ll tell you that. Here in California, there could be a green arrow, next to a big red light, next to a sign that says “Left turn only after 3PM”, with a person crossing the street illegally.. all at the same time. Itsย awkward when someone pulls forward thinking that the light has turned green, and then stopping a little past the limit line but its understandable; I mean, people text, eat, and even study while driving. But then you have to avoid the stares from other drivers.

Or when people expect the line to turn green, and start pulling forward.. and the traffic light decides its the best time to take a couple of seconds longer to give you the “Go” signal.

Ha!

Image source

7 Comments
  1. Yes! But WHY is it so embarrassing to be pulling forward a bit when it’s still red?! Every time I do it, I feel so ashamed that I refuse to make eye contact with anyone in the cars on either side of me…but why? What’s the big deal?! Haha.

    Another hilarious post, AwkwardList! ๐Ÿ™‚

    September 15, 2011
    • ….ummm….

      Maybe.. um..

      ?

      lol

      September 15, 2011
  2. A woman did that next to me last night. I was trying to pull forward to see past her GIANT vehicle to make a legal right on red. She apparently thought the light changed and pulled up so far she was almost in the intersection. She made mistake of looking my way. I laughed at her. She is one of those people who really should not have been talking on her cell while driving.

    September 15, 2011
    • WOW! You laughed. lol

      Those things are funny until they get serious and cause an accident or something. Here in California, it is illegal to talk on the phone while driving and I definitely understand why.. but people still do it ๐Ÿ™‚

      Edwin

      September 17, 2011
  3. chunter #

    A bit unrelated but a friend of mine had a pet peeve, and a little sort of game.

    The peeve was people that leave more than a car’s length from the stopping line at a traffic signal.

    The game was, creep forward just a little bit while waiting at the red light. Psychologically, the people around you will also creep. Make sure you’ve left enough room to do it a few more times and see how many other cars will ride their brakes with you…

    The point of his game is, no matter how much you want to follow the car in front of you and get to where you’re going as fast as you can, it really makes no difference if you just stand still and wait for the light. This is also true about cars that speed on streets that have red lights a half-mile apart or closer- there is no gain in going fast when everybody has to stop at the same place anyway.

    As for the topic, I’m thankful that I live in a place where the traffic lights are predictable. Where I grew up in New Jersey, there are many places where it is unlawful to turn (at all) at a traffic signal, and there are “jughandle” lanes that loop you around to get you on the road you want. It means it’s often a pain to know what lane you ought to be in, but it makes for fewer green arrow signals.

    September 17, 2011
    • Lucky, driving sounds so much easier around there. I really have to try that little experiment now.. I like that sort of stuff, as you may already know haha! Thanks for sharing!

      Its always entertaining to read what you say hahah

      Edwin

      September 17, 2011
  4. Oh THAT happened to me ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    I have only just started driving (really driving).. well, I started driving in September 2011, but the stupid things I do makes people wonder if it’s the first time I am driving ๐Ÿ˜€
    Anyways, I took my friends to shopping and whenever I take someone with me I get too conscious of my driving, because even if my friends don’t know how to drive, they’ll still be the ones judging.. and being that conscious I tend to make mistakes ๐Ÿ˜€
    and that day, on a red light, I saw one person (on a bike) breaking the law, thought that the light’s green now and raced my car… only when cars from the other three sides started honking did I realize my mistake.. AWKWARD.. couldn’t put my car in reverse gear either,.. as I am so bad at it and some other car had already pulled up at my space..

    Luckily, one of my friends made the same mistake and blamed the signal.. “How is it red again?! It turned green a second ago!” ๐Ÿ˜€

    December 4, 2011

Comments are closed.

