Skip to content
88. Getting pulled over

License and registration, please.

I was driving to campus one morning on my way to take an exam. It was just another typical morning, except for one thing that was odd from the start. Let me explain. There would be a police officer on a motorcycle pointing that speed gun thing (a Power Ranger-style cool looking gun that measures your speed) on the corner before turning onto the university every single morning. It was no big deal, I am aware of the speed limit, but what really made me feel safe is that cars would bunch up together like a herd of zebras and travel in a pack; safety in numbers. But not that morning.. I was on my own.

Blue lights. A siren.

I got a ticket for not having my front license plate on my car, it was on my backseat and I have no idea why. While I was waiting for my ticket patiently in my car, I thought about all of the things that make such an event so awkward.

Making a scene is super easy when there are blue and red flashing lights around you.

People stare no matter what. And I know I’m guilty of doing it too, to see if the person looks super pissed for getting pulled over, or if she’s crying over it.

Talking to the officer is even worse. Sometimes they ask things like “Do you know why I pulled you over?”, or “Do you know how fast you were going?”. “Ha! That is a trick question, officer. Good one.”

Proper documentation. I don’t know about you guys, but I don’t happen to have my license, registration and proof of insurance all pre-packed in a nice folder to hand to the police just in case I get pulled over. I opened my glove compartment and I found a shoe. Yes, a shoe. And it wasn’t mine.

The awkward wait for the ticket to come, or to have the guy check my driving record and all that stuff is horrible. You just have to sit there and wait. That’s it. No radio, no texting, no getting out of the car.. just sit quietly and avoid the stares.

“Are you in a hurry?” he asked, because I was looking at my watch

“Its alright, I feel ready for my test today,” I said

“Give me two minutes tops, I’ll be right back.” he said, with a smile. What the heck? He was giving me a citation and was happy about it.. Grr..

Well, at least I made it to my test on time.

Image source

16 Comments
  1. No chance of this happening. I can’t drive yet.

    September 13, 2011
    • Whaaaaaat!

      September 13, 2011
  2. I laughed about the glove box and the shoe, once we were pulled over and it took me ages to find the little teensy piece of paper that the insurance thingy is on, and then there seemed to be about 6 of them in there, is this it, um no, oh, is this it, no ma’am, oh, well what about this one! c

    September 13, 2011
    • Yes! I’ve done that. “Is this is it? No? Ok how about this one? No? Oh here it is. No?” Hahahhaha

      September 13, 2011
  3. angiewest #

    “Proper documentation. I don’t know about you guys, but I don’t happen to have my license, registration and proof of insurance all pre-packed in a nice folder to hand to the police just in case I get pulled over. I opened my glove compartment and I found a shoe. Yes, a shoe. And it wasn’t mine.”

    HAHA same here. I hate it when they laugh at you after pulling you over. Has that happened to any of you guys? I got pulled over on my way to Walmart 8 years ago. I was on my way to get Drano and black spray paint (you’ll see why in a minute) and 2 officers stopped me for not using my turn signal. (I had used it; it just decided not to work that night).

    Talk about awkward. He shines that light into the car and starts laughing at the sorry state of my old Grand Prix. A little background info: I bought it used, for 500 dollars, I hit a deer with it, and not just any normal size deer, oh no, this one was huge. He darted out into the road and his body bounced off the hood and the windshield before flying off to land in a heap on the gravel. I actually heard little pieces of the car hitting the ground as I drove away later. After that, I locked the keys in the car and my neighbor was *kind* enough to break out my entire drivers side window to get in. I couldn’t afford a window so I screwed a square piece of plexiglass that was way too big (I must not have done it right because it fell off later while I was driving). The dash fell apart, the turn signal snapped off (pliers on the nub fixed that), the tires went bald, and some kids spray painted dirty words all over it, including ‘Cops Suck’ in big bold letters.

    I got a bunch of tickets that night. Most of them equipment violations. I was so scared. I remember thinking “If I go to jail tonight, who’s going to unclog the toilet??” But the kicker? The officers waited across the Walmart parking lot for me to crawl out the drivers side window (window opening, anyway) and then they pointed and laughed 😦

    September 13, 2011
    • HAHAHA! That sounds terrible, but hey the car sounds pretty good for 500 dollars though 🙂 Laughed out loud at the plexiglass part, I can actually visualize something like that happening.. LOL!

      Thanks a lot for sharing Angie, this story really made my day!

      Edwin

      September 13, 2011
  4. Did you pass?

    September 14, 2011
    • Hey Tilly, thanks for asking.. Yes, I passed!

      Edwin

      September 14, 2011
  5. Dian Wijayanti #

    “I opened my glove compartment and I found a shoe. Yes, a shoe. And it wasn’t mine.” Hahaha. This one’s hilarious. I’m sorry you got pulled over, though, but the way you tell it is just so funny. Hahaha. Nice one. I used to ride motorcycle a lot and I got pulled over once or twice because I wasn’t wearing any helmet and sometimes those police got this… eerrrr, random checking sometimes, to check whether those motorcycle riders got their license and all, and I always panicking! God I hate that moments! Thank God I don’t ride motorcycle anymore, hahaha.

    September 14, 2011
  6. Love it! I don’t drive, and have only ever received official warnings for exceeding the speed limit on my bicycle and/or “stunting” (aka intentionally missing pedestrians by a very narrow margins). I have, however, gotten the person driving me places out of speeding tickets by complaining that I needed to pee (when I was five), and experiencing very well-timed Braxton Hicks contractions when I was pregnant with my daughter (when I was 28). Thanks for the chuckles!

    September 17, 2011
    • Thanks Desi!

      Is that what people call that? Stunting? Wow, it has a name now??

      Hahhahaha one of my friends got us out of a ticket by crying.. and she wasn’t faking it.

      September 17, 2011
      • Yup, stunting it is. Or at least, that’s what it read on the “warning” ticket, hahahaha! Wowzers about your friend. It’s awesome that she got you out of the ticket, but I hope she was okay!

        September 17, 2011
  7. I have the same problem with never having my stuff in a neat package. Makes me feel better to read about the shoe. My life. In a nutshell.

    September 29, 2011
    • Hahahaha!

      😀

      March 12, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. When fat people call themselves fat | AwkwardList
  2. Awkward Goodbyes | AwkwardList

Comments are closed.

