Skip to content
85. Someone wearing your exact same outfit

Uh oh. Run! Yes, some people actually flee the scene.

We were all getting ready to go out one night. People were buzzing in and out of our hotel room; the girls kept coming in to use our restroom because they ran out of power outlets and  blah blah blah..

“Hey Maggie, where was the –”

“I’m not Maggie,” an non-Maggie voice responded back, “We don’t even look alike, man.”

I suddenly heard a happy voice behind me, “Hey! Guess where it ..was..” her voice losing excitement and speed with every word.

Both of my friends were looking at each other. And I was quite confused, to be honest. My mind had a tough time processing that there were two tall women in identical dresses on either side of me. So after looking from side to side a couple of times (and making it more awkward), I decided to step out to the hallway in silence. In silence! The girls hadn’t said anything in five seconds, but it seemed like ten minutes.

Finally, “Oh, hahaha! Don’t worry, I’ll wear my other one.”

“Are you sure?”

“Yeah, it looks better on you.”

It took us another half hour to leave, but it could have been worse.. I came up with a list of things I could have said:

“Wow, did you two mean to do that?”

“Hey that’s awesome, let me take a picture!”

“This is going on my status..”

“Uh, yeah. You’re wrong, you do look like Maggie.”

Image source

7 Comments
  1. Uh oh!

    August 30, 2011
  2. Well ,glad you survived .

    Something like this must have happened 😀

    August 30, 2011
  3. wra$ab&E #

    The level awkwardness depends on the person. If it’s your BFF then it’s fine and you can laugh it out.

    August 31, 2011
  4. wra$ab&E #

    Level of awkwardness depends on the person. If it’s your BFF then its fine and you can laugh it out.

    August 31, 2011
  5. chunter #

    I am customer service for an apparel company’s website who, a couple years ago, offered this blue and white check western shirt (that means snaps instead of buttons) that had a certain brightness in the photograph and had my attention for some time. When the company offered a “friends and family” discount, I ordered one, and when mine came in, I wore it to work to discover that I looked like a picnic table, and so did at least six other guys.

    August 31, 2011
  6. Optimus the Ninja #

    I don’t get why people get so awkward about this. Shops stock up on more than one dress, so of course many others out there have the same dress as you. When someone’s wearing the same thing as me, I just say, “Great minds think alike.” The other person usually agrees and gives me a high five.

    September 1, 2011
  7. horrors, actually I just wrote a story about this exact thing.. on my itsy bitsy blog.. it is called My mother wore a Purple Suit.. you may get a laugh!! how weird that you wrote about it as well!! c

    September 4, 2011

Comments are closed.

