Skip to content
77. Questioning if you should “Like” something on Facebook

“Tom Smith likes Magnum XL Trojan condoms”
Like? Comment? 

Seriously people. Condoms aren’t that bad to “Like”, since I am sure that we are all a very mature breed that accept that we can handle a conversation about sex without giggling, but this is a totally different thing: you’re announcing stuff to the world.

“Mary Jones likes Maxi Pads”
Like? Comment?

But lets get down to the real business here, consider the following status update:

Ben Doodle
“My fish just died.. but he lived a long life.”

There are two things in that update that stand out right away; one bad thing, and one good thing. Its sad that the fish died, but it is good that he got to live a long life. Of course, you like the second part. Its just that our minds are trained to “Like” anything that sounds slightly good, even things as crazy as:

Jessica Lane
“I just took the HUGEST dump!”
82 people like this, 2113 comments

So when people started these made up petitions for Facebook to add a “Dislike” button, I thought of this situation. It can go wrong either way. “You don’t like that my fish lived a long life!? I’m unfriending you!” So what do you do? Well first of all, try to look at how much feedback they’ve received on that update. If you see that people clicked the “Like” button already, by all means be my guest and “Like”. But no matter what, I always find it very awkward when I see something like this:

Ben Doodle
“My fish just died.. but he lived a long life.”
34 people like this, 1 comment
Ben Doodle: “What the heck, guys?”

This post was right, Facebook is becoming a very awkward place.

Image source



Scheduled posts, humor blogs, random pictures, “That awkward moment when..” jokes, updates, those everyday, funny things you don’t notice. Like?

Fellow bloggers on Facebook, streaming ideas, common interests, a chance to interact, and other interesting stuff is happening on our Facebook party! (Our Facebook group). Join?

23 Comments
  1. I must be using the like button all wrong because I use it as a way of showing that I agree and sometimes just to show support. So, I would like Ben Doodles status to show that I feel sorry for his loss…. awkward.

    August 16, 2011
    • Its the thought that counts, you seem like a nice person so Ben Doodles would get the message lol

      August 16, 2011
  2. critters and crayons #

    Dude, FB is a whole new domain of etiquette, offense and insecurity. I don’t fully know the rules, either. That is hilarious, though. It always cracks me up when someone posts an utterly depressing “I’m fixin’ to jump” post and then another person likes it. Seriously. That’s just rude!

    August 16, 2011
  3. The part at the beginning where you were talking about being mature and not giggling when talking about sex, reminded me of the meeting I was in last night. We were writing down different identities and we got to the part where we write down our sex. I don’t know why but my mind jumped to a movie where someone answered that question with, “Hell Yeah.” I started laughing and so did 2 other guys but they had different responses that made them laugh. It was awkward but very funny.

    August 16, 2011
    • Hahahahahaha! “Hell Yeah”

      August 17, 2011
  4. Definitely agree with this post! The like button has given me a few LOL moments though. About a week ago I The Chippendales. A few hours later, I get a post from a friend saying “You liked the Chippendales, really?? Those men that wear no clothing?” I started snickering, but told her yeah, I’d did, and told her the reason why (To see what in the heck the dude from 98 degrees was doing in the Chippendales). She responds with “Oh. Good. I just didn’t want your account to be hacked.

    Seriously, the chick does not know me at all. I’d have liked them anyways!! Needless to say, it was good for some giggles.

    August 16, 2011
    • A dude from 98 degrees is a part of that? WHOA.

      August 17, 2011
  5. Haha! Thanks for making me realize that I put way too much thought into my every Facebook move.

    August 16, 2011
    • Haha!

      August 17, 2011
  6. chunter #

    The awkwardness itself comes from having the choice to “like” something when a friend of yours is only blowing off steam or sharing feelings that may not be comfortable but ought to be expressed… somewhere.

    As for personal male and female products… I didn’t even know there were pages for that, why visit them at all?

    August 16, 2011
    • Exactly. Well its hard to avoid all of those pages when they have free giveaways when you like their page! They got me to like McDonald’s for a while.. (only on Facebook)

      August 17, 2011
  7. http://www.lamebook.com/. Funny facebook shorts 😀 .

    Facebook Like =/ real Like
    Like as a verb in English (Copied from wiki )= like refers to a fondness for something\

    Facebook Like = A button which someone clicks because it is there out of sheer boredom or habit .It may or may not refer to the reality .

    A few weeks ago japecake had a similar article albeit in a different manner which was freshly pressed .
    http://japecake.wordpress.com/2011/07/08/id-like-you-to-hate-to-like-me/

    and yes japecake is a crackpot .

    August 16, 2011
    • HILARIOUS WEBSITE! LOL Thanks for sharing it!

      August 17, 2011
  8. I’m a very stingy Facebook Liker…I hold on to my Likes for as long as possible until I see something that I deem worthy of Liking. I figure, when in doubt, don’t Like ANYTHING…haha.

    Gosh, I think I’m the worst FB friend ever…so uninvolved. 😉

    August 17, 2011
    • When in doubt, LIKE!

      August 17, 2011
      • There. I liked that comment. 😉

        August 18, 2011
      • Yeah, I got a like! From a stingy liker! 🙂

        August 18, 2011
  9. You might as well write post on how facebook is awkward in general! And some posts like that are awkward too. Some things you just shouldn’t post on facebook for people to read.

    August 18, 2011
    • Agreed!

      August 18, 2011
  10. can i say… the Like button seems to ignore the complexity of people’s mind.. ?

    August 23, 2011
    • I like the way you think Ilham, that is whats going on!

      August 25, 2011
  11. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your website.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems?

    A small number of my blog visitors have complained
    about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera.
    Do you have any solutions to help fix this problem?

    June 20, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. The 20 Facebook Statuses In Your Newsfeed | critters and crayons

Comments are closed.

