Skip to content

76. When the computer asks if you would like to save your changes

..And you are 100% SURE you have changed NOTHING!

You quickly try to skim the Word document, and try to see if you accidentally deleted a paragraph or two by accident. Sometimes, the touch pad on my laptop highlights paragraphs accidentally and as soon as I type something .. poof! Its gone. My greatest fear is to not notice, save, and then lose the paragraph(s) forever.

O.K. so maybe it isn’t my greatest fear, but its in the top 100.

But what are we supposed to do when that little window pops up just as we are about to shut down the computer? It goes something like:

Wow, I’m so glad this paper is almost ready.. its saved.. alright, time to close it. *click*

“Would you like to save the changes you have made to ‘How Justin Bieber is Cool’?”

What? Oh dear. What did I change? *click*

Oh no! I clicked “No” because I didn’t want it to save just yet. What just happened!? Now my document is closed. *Click*

Oh no. Ohh please no. Ahh! HOLY COW! There’s smoke coming out of my computer!!

..

Alright, so maybe things don’t necessarily go that way all the time, but that’s how I visualize it sometimes (without the Justin Bieber part, of course). Pretty bad, right? But hey, it isn’t so bad now. There are new features on computer software that can save your “unsaved data” (whoa.. scary), besides being creepy, those features might be helpful to that 5 percent of the population that can actually figure out how to get to it.

Oh technology, its so awesome when it doesn’t work against us.

Image source

10 Comments
  1. “…but its in the top 100.” and “How Justin Bieber is Cool’?” Hahaha! Very well written! 😀

    Technology can be so paralyzing some times. Its annoying actually. Sitting in front of your computer working on a document for hours; that shoulder pain thats killing you…and when you are more than willing to finish it off… “Would you like to save the changes to ‘XYZ’?” (Alright! I’m not as good as you at giving names to the ‘XYZ’ and stuff!). Wait a second. Did I make any changes at all?? And then either two things happen. Either you (a) shut that window in a fit of rage, or, (b) read that 5 page long article all over again just to make sure that everything is fine. Whats more irritating is when you don’t find anything wrong and that message still flashes. Again, you either choose ‘YES’ or ‘NO’ or leave for another time…

    August 16, 2011
    • Hahaha you’re so right!

      I read it all over again and then find absolutely no changes and wasted some time when I could’ve been doing something semi-productive. Seriously, sometimes I just leave my computer on (sorry environmentalists!) and walk away for a while until I gather the patience to go back and re-re-read the document just to make sure.

      Thanks for commenting, Meghna 🙂

      Edwin

      August 16, 2011
      • Thanks for writing such wonderful stuff, Edwin 🙂

        August 18, 2011
        • Meghna! Thank you! I really appreciate the comment 🙂

          August 18, 2011
  2. Well I have a solution .
    Install a personal keylogger .
    I get details of what I typed by minute .
    That said ,you will have to spend a full day reading what you typed (mine generates 15000 pages per week .Sorted by Applications )
    Strange hobbies I have .

    August 16, 2011
    • Oooh..! That sounds really cool. People could use that to spy on others.. I like. And WHAT!? 15000 PAGES A WEEK?

      :O

      August 16, 2011
  3. I find that when this happens to me, my elbow added a few extra spaces to the document. Ctrl +Z usually solves the mystery of what the heck I just did.

    August 16, 2011
  4. Dian Wijayanti #

    It is awkward! My Pages application always ask me this EVERY TIME I’m closing the app, even when I know by heart that I didn’t make any changes. It’s getting annoying! …and awkward :-/

    August 16, 2011

Comments are closed.