Skip to content
Facebook page! (And other stuff.)

Hello!

Do you have a Facebook account? I know that this whole “Like” thing has gotten way out of hand, I looked at the plastic wrapping of my toilet paper the other day (yes, that is why I wrote the toilet paper post), and there was a “Like us on Facebook!” thing on it. On toilet paper! Why should I like TOILET PAPER? —Oh wait. Nevermind.

Anyway, this blog now has a link to the Facebook page on the top right of the page (on the header). Consider it like toilet paper and be sure to Like it! There aren’t many people there yet, but being the first at a party is always awkward, and isn’t this what it’s all about? Remember thinking to yourself “Oh jeez, this reminds me of that one thing. .” when you read a post? Well now you can share those stories, videos and pictures, and links to anything you want on The Awkward List Facebook page. Don’t like Facebook? How about Twitter? I’m linked on there, too.

The new design.

How to navigate around – The theme focuses on left to right scrolling between posts, as opposed to top to bottom. You can use your keyboard arrows ← and → to go to other posts, and ↑ and ↓ to scroll up and down on a single post. There are also > buttons at the top corners (on the header) to help you out.

Comments – Now every time you comment, you’ll get your own individual box! What the heck does this mean? Try it out and find out. I think its awesome. You can no longer reply to each other on posts though, which sucks a little.

Pages – The pages are located at the top on the header. Home, The Awkward List, Ideas, About, and Author. Everything should be working fine with those things.

Do you like it? If this thing takes forever to load, or just looks weird and you don’t like it, vote. If you think it is awesome, and it makes things much cooler around here, vote! Here is the poll . .

13 Comments
  1. I like the new look.. Is there going to be more for the little thingies to do someday?

    July 23, 2011
  2. Never mind about the little thingies. I went to the other pages and see how it works now. Yep, like the new digs.

    July 23, 2011
    • What little thingies were you talking about anyway? lol. Awesome, you like it. Thanks Patricia!

      July 23, 2011
  3. I don’t like the new look at all….but I like your blog so it won’t stop me from reading and commenting. And I quit facebook…if I was on it, I’d surely “like” your page. 🙂

    July 23, 2011
  4. After looking around a bit, here’s a bit more feedback…since you asked. It is kind of cool that you can see all the posts on this “shelf” and I like on the list page that you can scroll through the posts easily. I don’t like on my blog how it would take someone a bit of work to find older posts. I like how they are visible in places here. But I must say…the fonts you have for the title and the way you have them designed, I don’t like at all. Maybe it’s because my husband’s a graphic designer that I notice things like that, but they don’t look very good, in my humble opinion. I really liked the look of your old blog…the design was simple and sleek. I tried to find a place to send you a private message so I wasn’t saying all these specific things here in public, but couldn’t find one. I’m just letting you know what I think since you asked. Someone critiquing you in public…awkward? 😉

    July 23, 2011
    • I like the “shelf” thing too, but I find it difficult to get used to the whole left to right scrolling thing.. I think it was so much easier to scroll down, like on every other normal web page out there. And also, maybe its just me but does it take longer for it to load? While we’re talking about the page, here are some of the things that I’ve noticed from it too (since I’ve been clicking around looking this theme as well): people cannot reply to each other’s comments, no room for widgets (means no “Subscribe” or any other buttons!), and little room to post larger pictures, which makes the whole post feel a little crowded. . ugh. Or maybe I just miss the old one haha

      I appreciate the feedback, thanks a lot for taking the time to comment.

      P.S. You have a blog! How come it isn’t listed on your gravatar profile, is it private?! I just see a link to that and your email address 🙂

      July 23, 2011
  5. I was talking about the little arrow thingies at the top on either side of the header that make the page slide side to side.

    July 23, 2011
  6. Are you replying to me here:
    “You have a blog! How come it isn’t listed on your gravatar profile, is it private?! I just see a link to that and your email address .”
    I’ll just assume you are and then if you’re not…another awkward moment for you to write about.

    Yes, I have a blog. I thought you knew that as you have commented on it before. 🙂
    No, it’s not private at all…this whole blog world is new to me. Thanks for pointing out that there is not link to my blog…I thought there was. I didn’t know my email address was there either. This has been a very educational morning for me.
    Your page doesn’t seem to load any slower for me then the other one…at least that I notice. I’ll see if I can fix the “link to my blog problem now”.

    July 23, 2011
    • Hahaha yeah! I HAVE been to your blog before 🙂

      July 23, 2011
  7. OK…I see what the problem was. I need to be logged into wordpress for there to be a link to my blog when I comment. I’ll make sure to log in when I comment on blogs from now on. Thanks for pointing that out to me.
    Here’s my blog address:
    http://mahra2.wordpress.com/

    I’m going to see if there’s a way to list my posts more like you have done here without doing too much redesigning. Like I said before, I think it’s too difficult for people to navigate through and find old posts, especially if they are new to reading a blog…and, well, I like some of my old posts and would like it if people read them. That’s why I put them there, you know? 🙂

    July 23, 2011
  8. I like the font you changed your title to better then the last one…and i like that you added the definition. Let me know if you’ve had enough input from me on your new design.

    July 23, 2011
  9. I cant read comments more than 5 .Usually I like reading all of them, but standing with both the feet on wall and reading , makes my hands hurt .Good if you make quick posts on which no one would comment, like “effects of wheat bran juice on my monkey ” .(Okay if you make that post I will certainly comment)

    July 24, 2011
  10. Kevin #

    interesting sidescrolling layout… does this suggest your a gamer, or is it just too much Comic Con on the brain? love your posts though! thanks.

    July 25, 2011

Comments are closed.

