Skip to content
62. When your professor asks you to find a partner

They always do this. Why!?

It is the first day of school, and your best friend is not in your biology class. Bummer. Oh well, you’ll make new friends. . . though you’re not very sure of how this happens but you do know that eventually you will end up knowing a lot of people and becoming good friends with some of them.

So you greet the person next to you, and think to yourself: Awesome, I know one person in this classroom, yeah! But then your teacher decides to set up her seating chart and put you next to another set of complete strangers, making you start the greeting people thing all over again.

And just when you thought it couldn’t get any worse:

“Alright, students. I’d like you now to find a partner and try to discuss the problem on the board.”

You look to your left, then to your right. People awkwardly looking at each other to see who will end up with who makes the situation extra tense. Are people staring at you? No, they’re looking for a partner. Now you don’t get to casually meet people around you; you are now forced to interact and let your first conversation ever be about the structure of a cell, instead of talking about Maroon 5 even though you are wearing that band’s T-shirt, how unfortunate.

Some people don’t find partners, others end up fighting over a person, and some people might just end up together because nobody wanted to partner up with them. Sucks, huh?

Sometimes though, you get lucky. A friendly person around you might just look at you and smile to say “Hey, want to be my partner?” and only then, my friends, life is good. Are you that person? You are awesome!

Image source

 

11 Comments
  1. Heartland -The Backyard Storage Experts #

    HAHAHA! and you’re silently praying to anyone who might pick up on the mental vibes “pleasepickme, pleasesomeonepickme…”

    July 20, 2011
  2. I’m usually one of the people who asks someone to be my partner. The truth is, the likelihood of them saying no is slim. This is awkward, but I mean, honestly, I’m greatful for these situations.
    Nice post.

    July 20, 2011
    • Thanks Crystal-

      Then that means that. . You’re awesome! I’m thankful for you people haha

      Edwin

      July 20, 2011
  3. I always got the dude who pretended to not know anything and basically made me do both all the work and all the talking. All the glory, all the blame.

    July 20, 2011
  4. aproperchat #

    Ugh, partnering. It especially sucks if you make a wrong partner choice in the beginning, and you’re consequently stuck with that person for the rest of the semester.

    July 20, 2011
  5. I usually try to be that nice person who smiles and asks if they want to be my partner. But in a couple of instances where I’ve done that, I would sometimes get that awkward smile and reply like “Oh, I already have a partner.” Dangit!

    I usually have a quiet nature which might offset a sort of caution aura I could be setting, but I would say 50/50 depending on my mood for that day I could either be waiting for a friendly smile or being the person to smile. I’ve never seen people fighting over partners before though. Its not like pulling teeth so finding a partner should be that bad? In most instances however when I take the time to smile and ask them, I get a smile in reply and an almost relief look on their faces– which makes it all the more better because it makes these situations and self doubts common in everybody. Making a joke about it afterwards always alleviates any tension left.

    July 20, 2011
  6. Great post…but remember…life is always good…even when it’s awkward.

    July 20, 2011
  7. Miss Marblemouth #

    I hated finding a partner. I’m not good at socializing. Never have been. My husband makes fun of my complete and utter inability to make small talk with strangers and chides me for preferring Words with Friends over actually having friends.

    July 21, 2011
  8. Dian Wijayanti #

    Aaarrgghhh. I hate this moment too! I Partially because I usually prefer to work alone. So when I screw up I only have myself to blame.

    July 22, 2011
  9. I usually stand in a corner ,wait for everyone else to finish.Usually one dude is always absent .So I get the full table and I get to blame everything on the absent dude

    July 24, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A refund for the time I spent learning cursive, please. | AwkwardList

Comments are closed.

