Skip to content
61. When your parents talk about sex

Dear Edwin,

I have to tell you about a situation that happened with a friend of mine. While a friend and her family were in the living room together, her mom looked through a book about sex for couples. This would’ve been fine, except her mom decided to comment on the book.

‘This book has a lot of good points, but they forgot one thing: the usage of toys for women who can’t have orgasms during sex. I’m one of them.’

According to my friend, her dad was just there not saying anything. Awkward.

Sincerely,

Trees.”

– – – – – – –

I know what some of you might be thinking.

Edwin, I don’t believe this is awkward. My parents and I talk about this topic all of the time and we’re all very mature about it and and and…

Alright, then use this post to find out what the other 97% of the population thinks.

Well, Trees. .

Yes definitely awkward. What is a person supposed to say when a parent begins to talk about such a topic? Nobody wants to think about their parents doing it no matter how old you are. When sex gets brought up in a conversation and your parents talk about it, it can be a pretty uncomfortable situation. I’m curious to know how the rest of the conversation went, or if her dad ever said anything about it though.

Talk about awkward. . what do you guys think?

 

8 Comments
  1. chunter #

    I agree, what makes that particular moment awkward is that it is personal in a way that nobody else needs to know about it, specifically the “I am one of them” part.

    The silent Dad could very well mean that the message was news to him as well, and that this conversation was intended to be a subtle hint that went wrong.

    TBH my parents didn’t get enough opportunity to talk about that sort of thing for me to ever think of any awkward conversations with them- I suppose the pace and timing of my personal “development” was a bit awkward enough in and of itself.

    July 18, 2011
  2. I would go one step further and call it inappropriate. Don’t get me wrong, I’d have this conversation with close friends, we talk about EVERYTHING…in great detail…but we are very close. Is this friend close with the mother who is talking about this? Does the father want his sex life discussed like this? Sounds like a boundary issue to me.

    July 18, 2011
  3. TBM #

    I’m sorry, I’m too traumatized to comment much. Are you telling me that my parents had sex?

    July 19, 2011
  4. Miss Marblemouth #

    I used to leave the room whenever I was watching a movie with my parents and one of the following happened: 1. I knew there was a sex scene coming up or 2. Had spidey senses that some sexing was about to go down. I just can’t sit idly by and watch people rub parts together with the woman who tucked me into bed at night perched next to me.

    July 21, 2011
    • LOL! This comment seriously made me laugh!

      Awesome way of putting it 🙂

      Edwin

      July 22, 2011
  5. Dian Wijayanti #

    Very awkward indeed!! Aarrgghhh. I would be looking forward for any smallest opportunity available to dash out of the room! Hahaha.

    July 22, 2011
    • Right!? I’d pretend to get a phone call and get out of there!

      Edwin

      July 22, 2011
  6. Ha, you had me fooled on this one! I lucked out, never had the sex talk, instead learning about it the natural way: in locker rooms and by watching the dogs and cats in the neighborhood.

    I was, however, unlucky enough to overhear my parents talking about THEIR sex life once, which was just as damaging. My mother wondering to my aunt whether or not she and my father had used protection last night. Ug. Sex stayed on the back-burner a long time after that.

    July 23, 2011

Comments are closed.

