Skip to content
58. Saying something at the same time

Here is the scenario:

You’re at a sushi bar with a couple of friends, enjoying the raw fish, rice and all the other cool stuff you can find at a place like that. After a while, the conversation dies down a little which hints that a change of topic is necessary. Certain people are better at it than others, because some people just have interesting things to talk about. Well what if there are two interesting people at the table that notice the sudden death of a conversation and want bring forth a new one?

That’s you. YOU are one of the interesting, awesome people. And suddenly you want to talk about how your car broke down and the mechanic messed it up even more. But your friend wants to talk about his ex-girlfriend going out with his brother now. Here’s what it would sound like:

So I can’t believe freakin’ mechanic she’s going out with made it worse with my brother!”

Whatta what?!

That’s right. Yup. Sometimes people just keep talking even though another person is talking. But who can blame them? There is no talking right-of-way rule listed anywhere.

And other times, neither of them wants to talk! Suddenly the battle of you-go begins:

So I can’t believe freakin— oh.”

“You go,”

“No, you go. I was going to say something dumb.”

“Well I forgot what I was going to say anyway.”

Great, so neither of them will say anything. And, we’re back to square one. Both people might turn away and leave you with a dead conversation. Once more.

 

Image source

5 Comments
  1. lol that’s funny! I think it might (in fact I am sure) have happened with me but I don’t really remember anything right now! But I do forget what I was going to say very often. Sometimes I even lose my train of thought! It is so frustrating.

    July 12, 2011
  2. RO #

    Rock, Paper, Scissors, Lizard, Spock for the right to talk!

    July 12, 2011
    • RO. How come I’ve never heard of this?! That is amazing!!!!!

      July 12, 2011
      • RO #

        It IS amazing!

        July 12, 2011
  3. This happens to me all the time.
    Why do I have this feeling as if you’re blogging about my life?
    So awkward. (pun totally intended)

    July 15, 2011

Comments are closed.

