Skip to content
51. Getting asked something when your mouth is full

While sitting with a group of friends, talking to one another and enjoying each other’s company, you probably feel very comfortable. (If you have no friends, then just imagine that you do; don’t ruin it for everybody.) It’s awesome, right? One of the things that people enjoy doing to socialize is to go out to eat together. It almost never gets awkward.

But has anyone asked you something just as you took a huge bite of something?! Seriously man, what is up with that?

They just sit there watching you chew your food in a rush in order to have you answer their question that was probably something not important like “So, like, did you see what she was wearing?”

Some people have a tendency to ask questions just as your mouth gets full, and then they just watch you struggle as you’re attempting to not choke trying to speak and chew a lot faster, while keeping your train of thought and maintaining a proper breathing rhythm at the same time!

Oh what? You like to talk with your mouth full anyway? My apologies, this does not apply to you.

Image source

6 Comments
  1. I dunno why but I always point to my mouth when I am put in such a situation.

    It is my way of signalling to them: “I am not ignoring you, just eating and maintaining manners.”

    Still manners, though they are nice only serve to impede, with proper good mates I just cover my mouth and talk away.

    June 28, 2011
  2. Although it can feel awkward, I don’t think it’s as embarrassing to be the person chewing as the one who inadvertently asked a question at just the wrong moment, then have to watch someone rush to finish their mouthful just to be polite. After all, a considerate person would not inflict this discomfort on their friend 😦

    June 29, 2011
    • hahaha you’re so right!

      June 29, 2011
  3. Dian Wijayanti #

    Ahhh! I hate that! I usually give a hand signal to them, telling them to wait while I’m chewing, while having my other hand cover my mouth, and after that, I answer the question. But seriously, there should be an unwritten agreement already that people shouldn’t ask other people when they’re chewing their food! It is, indeed, awkward!

    June 29, 2011
  4. Nice post, it is always a challenge to eat and talk at the same time 🙂

    July 1, 2011
    • Yes it is. Thanks for reading!

      July 2, 2011

Comments are closed.

