Skip to content
48. Asking a non-pregnant woman when the baby is due

Yes, it happens.

Definitely one of the lesser known ones, yet carries a lot of awkwardness power! I mean hey, some people out there might have a little belly that gives the impression of a pregnancy, but even then some people consider it “too much to ask” for fear of offending the other person.

But c’mon, sometimes you are pretty darn sure that the woman is pregnant. She might even put her hand on her belly, just like the ladies on the image of cool pregnant women on the right of this paragraph. Or maybe she just gives off that maternal vibe by acting super nice and smiling all the time.

“Oh my! Congratulations!”

“Uh, thank you?”

“When is your baby due?”

“Oh no, I’m not pregnant.”

Oops! She wasn’t pregnant. At this point, you might wish for something else to take the attention off of you, but just wishing won’t do very much here. Sorry buddy, you’re on your own. But hey, some women might actually be pregnant and find it extremely nice for someone to notice and congratulate them. It is one of those risks that some people are willing to take. Besides, some people say that life is “all about taking risks”, right? Certain people are natural risk takers, so uh, good for them.

[Thanks maximsmadness]

Image source

 

11 Comments
  1. ohanabee #

    I’m not pregnant, I’m just fat. :))) I like those t-shirts :))

    June 21, 2011
  2. I’d say that when in dilemma, wait for you to be alone with her before asking! Last thing I’d want is a bunch of people staring me down and making me feel like an even bigger ass.

    June 21, 2011
  3. Okay, I’ve always been careful of this. Just don’t ask- period. HOWEVER, one day- it just popped out of my mouth (after having my first child and babies/pregnancy were on the brain) and sure enough, she laughed it off and said “oh, I’m not pregnant- I’m just fat.” and she really had a great sense of humor and said she had been asked a few times before…OMG- I forgot my own rule and the one time I forgot, is the time I made an ass of myself. great. In my defense, she really did have that pooch…and obviously others thought it, as well.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA USA

    June 21, 2011
  4. Glad to be of service. I hope I never have to deal with this. Best just to keep your mouth shut.

    June 22, 2011
  5. TBM #

    I’ve never done this, but I have seen it happen on the train during rush hour. The woman wasn’t pregnant and the entire train got really quiet and stared at the man who asked her. It was awkward for everyone and I was relieved when both people got off the train. I learned from this to never ask.

    June 22, 2011
    • I can just imagine that happening just as the doors close. . uh oh! Too late to get out.

      June 22, 2011
  6. LOL that is very awkward … someone asked me that shortly after I had a baby, my stomach still hadn’t gone down completely…I just laughed and said “oh no…not pregnant anymore, baby is 1 week old”…its better to laugh off the awkwardness than to be bitter about that fact that your stomach is indeed pregnant looking fat. 🙂

    June 22, 2011
  7. I’ve made this mistake before. When I was in school, I worked at a higher end clothing store, and a woman came in wanting to buy a jacket. Since our stuff was rather expensive, I told her that she should pick a smaller size than the one she chose because after the baby was born the jacket would be too large, and I didn’t want her to spend so much money on a jacket that she would only wear for a few months. She then told me that she wasn’t pregnant.

    I ran to the back of the store and hid behind a bunch of skirts until she left. Needless to say, I didn’t receive any commission from her purchase that day.

    June 22, 2011
  8. It’s best not to say anything and let the other person bring it up. I would be crushed if someone asked me that.

    June 22, 2011
  9. I agree, this is always a conundrum for me! i want to be excited, but then, i don’t want to embarrass someone/myself if they aren’t pregnant.

    June 30, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. You’re pregnant? Congratulations…? | AwkwardList

Comments are closed.

