Skip to content
35. Angry customers

People started complaining to me when the person they wanted to see was not in the office. I didn’t know what to say, the man was out and had not taken his cell phone with him. What was I supposed to do? I calmly let them know and they kept on yelling. Ah, receptionist work.. oh well.

Sometimes customers get a little carried away when they don’t get what they’re looking for. I’ve witnessed the fury of angry customers, and its not pretty. Angry parents are probably one of the bad experiences I’ve had.

For our welcoming passive programs (posters on the wall), I teamed up with another Resident Advisor in the dorms to place a large informational poster on the wall about sex education. Parents, helping the students move into their dormitories, decided that this was promoting sex and that they were not happy. They complained to the other RAs, to the coordinator, to other parents. In the end, the poster got torn down. By a parent.

But I’ve seen worse. Way worse. A woman yelled at a McDonald’s employee after receiving a wrong order in a restaurant by my home. Angry over a cheeseburger that wasn’t plain.

Getting yelled at by angry customers is very awkward. In one hand, the customer is “always right” and in the other hand, the customer, well, is wrong (for getting all mad). That itself is awkward. Now imagine adding on all of that other stuff like how an angry person is typically very irrational, says things they don’t mean, are over dramatic, spit while they talk, make unusual hand motions, and embarrass themselves and whoever is there with them. Uh, yeah, awkward.

What is a person supposed to do when faced with an angry customer?

Image source

2 Comments
  1. Damn it, Edwin. I was in a good mood, and now I’m just irritated after reading this. It’s morning time, and we’re heading out for coffee…guess I’m going to have to take it out on the barissta. It’s only fair, right? they better make my coffee just right or I’m gonna have a field day.

    Ooooh. maybe I shouldn’t go for coffee! 🙂

    HAPPY FRIDAY!

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest CA

    May 27, 2011
    • Oops!

      Hahaha, poor employees. . we have to respect them, nobody wants a coffee from an unhappy barista; they won’t make it as good.

      June 1, 2011

Comments are closed.

