Skip to content
31. Getting rejected

They say that rejecting someone is more awkward than getting rejected, I’d like to disagree.

Whether its getting a rejection letter from your first-choice university, getting a phone call from the place you interviewed with, or when that girl you asked out gives you a very detailed excuse to not go out for coffee with you. . . getting rejected is awkward.

In fact, getting rejected is awkward before you actually get rejected! Let’s say you’re inviting a woman out for coffee. Ready.. set.. action!

Woman: You seem very nice.
Man: Thank you, would you like to go out for coffee sometime?

*Woman does not want to go and is deciding on how to say no. Awkward* 

Woman: Uh, actually I think you should know I’m seeing someone.

*Man begins to feel awkward because she’s lying or not interested. Man becomes self conscious. Awkward.*

Man: Oh. Uh, well, uh, that’s O.K. I’ll see you around.
Woman: Yeah, yeah. Of course, I’ll see you later.

Pshh.. like that ever happens! Things get extremely awkward when you get rejected like that. But what about when you get a rejection letter or a phone call? Not knowing what to say causes another one of these moments. You might think that people are used to getting rejected, like those people taking surveys on the street that everyone says “no” to, but its tough taking a “no” from people whether it is expected or unexpected.

Image source

6 Comments
  1. After years in the writing profession, I can honestly say that rejections still sting and I still remember virtually every single one. I have a much harder time remembering awards and compliments.

    Kinda backward, isn’t it?

    Indy

    May 18, 2011
    • Ouch.. yeah, just a little. Try focusing on the good stuff! 🙂

      There’s probably a reason why you remember your rejections easily though, maybe they have even helped you improve! I’m glad you’re hanging in there, Indy!

      Thanks for reading!

      Edwin

      May 18, 2011
  2. my mom always said “It builds character. How you react demonstrates the person you are…”

    I’ve developed such a character persona, I could be a damn cartoon comic strip! If only I could draw…

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    lake Forest, CA

    May 31, 2011
  3. I think it’s probably awkward all around. I mean, rejecting someone is just as weird if you’re not a jerk.
    Then again, rejection being awkward is kinda subjective. Like, if I get rejected by a school I wasn’t very interested in or a guy that I only made a pass at on a whim, it doesn’t feel nearly as awkward. I know that I always feel this deep sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach if it’s something I really cared about or wanted to work out, but it’s a little easier to blow off sometimes.

    I like your posts. Well written and attractive layout. =]

    Rayven

    June 16, 2011
  4. While reading your recent posts I was about to suggest this topic “getting a rejection letter”, but you already have this awkward moment penned down.

    I got one rejection email from a company I applied at after my Graduation. The worst thing is that the email subject doesn’t reveal enough, so you have to open the email, hoping against hope, they’ve decided to accept you.. and then you just run your eyes through the email, picking up words till you either read “sorry to inform” or “happy to inform” (or something to that effect) and after reading which ever of the two phrases you find, you have to read the email again!

    I got rejected so many times that summer. Only got one acceptance call! With the other companies, they never called back… I guess that was better than receiving a letter for me.. but being rejected so many times shattered my confidence to pieces… teeny weeny pieces.. and I haven’t been able to pick up the pieces still after working at the same job for three years (thanks to Allah they haven’t yet fired me).. but the point is that getting such rejection often leaves you bruised..

    And the first comment reminds of all the articles that I send to local newspapers and they never get published… don’t blame them really, for getting published in those newspapers I’ll have to be a writer of a certain standard, which I am not… I certainly am not.. I just write… I write whatever I feel like writing… but knowing all this sometimes doesn’t make up for being rejected again and again. As a consequence, I gave up completely on writing for a long while. But then I was missing writing. No matter how bad I am at it, I still like writing. So now I write for myself. I still send articles to papers, they still don’t get published, I still mind a bit, but I still try to write… 🙂

    August 11, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Love: You KNOW This Story | AwkwardList

Comments are closed.

