Skip to content
27. When your credit card declines

Even if I know I have money, I always cross my fingers when I swipe my bank card. Sometimes I’m forced to wait for those machines with a slow connection that lead me to a nervous staring contest with the little machine until I finally see it twitch as it gets ready to print out the receipt. Then I win. Yes!

I check my accounts regularly to make sure that I have funds in my bank.. not so much because I’m paranoid that my money will get lost or something, but because I dislike that awkward moment when your card declines.

“Sorry sir, your card declined.”

And some people actually tell you just like that. Sometimes you get the nicer ones that say:

“Do you have another card? This one didn’t go through.”

But it’s still embarrassing! It’s almost as if the whole world just stops and suddenly everyone turns to look at you. This has happened to me once so far.

I was buying a sandwich. People were behind me, some of them really hungry-looking. Everyone seemed very rushed that afternoon for some reason. Then they told me the phrase. I didn’t know what to say. A woman started tapping on the counter, and I felt like I needed to get out of there fast! Suddenly, I got an idea. I just looked at my card, and asked them to try it again.I know it had available funds, so it must’ve been a problem with the card itself because it worked the second time.

Pheew!

Unfortunately, not all of us have the same luck. Has this ever happened to you?

Source: image

6 Comments
  1. ohanabee #

    It never happened to me but let me tell you my pet peeve: people that pay with checks at supermarkets> WTF??? We are not in the 90’s any more. I give the evil eye all the time when I see someone taking their sweet time to write and write the freaking check for 5 minutes.

    May 12, 2011
    • Oh yes. People still do that… I don’t even think I know how to write a check properly.

      May 12, 2011
  2. alm9 #

    Ugh. That is embarrassing… It’s even worse when you wait in line during a sale for half an hour only to have your card declined. It ends with you apologizing, the cashier looking frazzled and annoyed and the line behind you on the verge of mini-rioting. You then meekly leave the store without buying anything. Very awkward.

    May 12, 2011
  3. Shhh alm9 you know that was aimed at when you were in line with me….. Ah dear. You see, this happens to me wayyyy to often -_- Always. Always. Always. Usually I get a really goofy grin on my face whenever my debit card works…

    May 13, 2011
  4. I hate when the strip doesn’t work? I’m sorry, this is DECLINED. You feel like everyone is looking at you and you can’t imagine why it’s not working.

    OR

    You paid it on the due date, and it’s crossing in the mail, and the CC company puts a stop on all future charges until they get your payment…even when you’re in good standing and have only been a day or 2 late a couple of times within your 12 years of having the card! That’s always nice. Like you’re a deadbeat.

    Which reminds me, I’ve gotta pay my bills tomorrow morning. I might be late on them! 🙂

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

    May 18, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 105. Naked old people in the locker room | Awkward List

Comments are closed.

