Skip to content
24. Dozing off

Your crush suddenly walks into the coffee shop, and notices you sitting there. She smiles, plays with her hair, and then begins walking in your direction. You can’t help at smiling and you begin to notice your heart beating faster. Yup, she’s walking toward you and is now standing by your table. She stretches her arm and begins to wave her hand . . right in front of you? Why is her hand two inches away from your face waving side to side?

“Hello! Come back to Earth!”

Suddenly your dream girl’s hand turns into your best friend’s hand, and the coffee shop turns into the cafeteria. And you’re back to reality.

“What were you daydreaming about? You were smiling.”

This happens to all of us, though our situations may vary in level of awkwardness:

Level 1. You’re with your friends and they wake you from your day dream. They consider it normal for you and joke about it for about two seconds before letting it go.

Level 2. You’re around people that don’t know you very well and they wake you up (like at work).

Level 3. You make facial expressions such as smiling, frowning, or disgust faces during your dream, which give a hint to the spectators about what you were daydreaming about and increase their level of curiosity.

Level 4. You actually verbalized your thoughts and woke up when you noticed you were speaking. I mean, if I heard you talking during your daydream I probably wouldn’t snap you out of it yet.

Level 5. You made hand gestures that reflect your daydream. This level is rarely reached unless a person is in deep daydream sleep.

Things can become especially awkward when you zone out while staring at something. .  or someone.

Some people claim that they do not daydream, ever. I’m not very sure if its true or if they just don’t notice it, I mean some people even do it while driving a car. Has your subconscious mind ever taken over? What level of awkwardness have you reached?

Sources: image, idea

12 Comments
  1. people go on “auto pilot” driving regular routine roads all the time. There’s an actual scientific term for it, but heck If I can recall.

    Anyway, they say our brain has the ability to day dream when we’re driving a familiar/regular route. how do we not crash or rear end someone?

    Yes, we’ve all done this and had people snap their fingers in front of your face.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, California

    May 9, 2011
    • Thats true! At times, I’ve wondered if I missed my exit on the freeway because my mind wasn’t all there. That’s a bit scary, actually. People are zombie driving all over the place..

      May 10, 2011
  2. Ahha you posted on this! XD ANd I don’t understand those people who think they don’t daydream. I know someone who claims such. There are studies that show that we spend about 70% of our lives daydreaming. I don’t think it is humanly possible to eliminate that huge percentage.

    May 9, 2011
    • Yes I used your idea, oops.. I hope you don’t mind 🙂

      Wow thanks for the facts. People gotta stop lying! Haha

      Edwin

      May 10, 2011
      • Haha I don’t mind at all! I’m actually really happy I could help XP.

        May 13, 2011
  3. Hi Edwin –

    Haha I was laughing while reading all those because all have happened to me. I could never concentrate on what I should be doing..like listening in class for example..and suddenly jumped, twitched, started laughing, flinched, lots. I like this post dude. Good one. 🙂

    May 9, 2011
    • Hi Charlie, thanks. Glad you liked it. Though I do feel a little bad for you vivid daydreamers when you embarrass yourselves, you all rock!

      Edwin

      May 10, 2011
  4. another one that made me laugh out loud!!! thanks for the entertainment!!!!

    May 9, 2011
    • Thanks Tamar! I’m glad you liked it!

      Edwin

      May 10, 2011
  5. ohanabee #

    I would often daydream during a boring class or a seminar

    May 10, 2011
    • Some teachers are really good at making fun of daydreamers… =/

      May 10, 2011
  6. I zone out alot and people are like, “Why are you staring at me?”

    June 21, 2011

Comments are closed.

