Skip to content
20. Being asked “Did you just wake up?”

It was a cold morning, you know, one of those mornings when your blanket reaches the perfect warmth just as your alarm clock decides to ring. It must have taken all of the effort in the world to get me up that day; I only had one lecture at 8:00am. After self-encouragement, turning on the television, putting on my iPod earphones to pump some jumpy music, I finally rolled out of bed. Brushed my teeth, got my cereal and coffee, showered, and then I began feeling mighty fine! I got ready for my class and went out there into the university.

I was early so while I was waiting outside of my building when a friend of mine decided to stop by and sit on the bench with me.

“Good morning, Edwin”, she said while giving me a look that made me feel self-conscious, “did you just wake up?”

No! I had woken up two hours prior! I’m feeling good! What have you done to me? 

I responded with a “no, did you?” and she got a bit angry and pulled out a little thing (ladies, help me out here..), a circular thing that opened like an oyster and had a mirror on it and started acting all funny, I could tell she was feeling uncomfortable. If I had known she was going to get all weird about it, I would’ve kept my mouth shut. Oops. I guess it was a little messed up.

I mean, she made her point clear. I could’ve just said many things and gotten the same response:

NOW  I see why girls need makeup.. ”

“Bad hair day?”

“You look like crap today, but how do you feel, friend?”

I’ve been trying to think of how to properly respond to such a question, you know, something else to say besides “No, did you?”.

Any ideas?

4 Comments
  1. Hey Edwin –

    I think your reply put the lady on defense. It’s ok that she gave you a look that made you feel observed.

    Girls always observe us guys, and much more than you can ever imagine possible. Woman are much more observational than men are.

    Seriously, are you kidding! women not only observe men intently, they observe other women closely as well.

    Get over to my site and check out my new blogs if you need a laugh.

    Happy Wednesday to you. 🙂

    May 4, 2011
  2. It’s called a “compact” it has the facial powder and tiny mirror to keep our faces from getting shiny.

    I’ve never been big into makeup and only carried one to ensure I had nothing green stuck in my teeth.

    Well, it’s not what you said but how you said it “the TONE.” If you have a rappore with that individual and can joke like that, fine. If you don’t then it’s best to just not say anything.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

    May 9, 2011
    • women terminology –
      compact – essential tool for women to keep from getting shiny* faces. or green stuff in teeth.
      *shiny = sweaty, aka glistening

      Thanks! a compact. a compact. a compact..

      May 10, 2011
  3. I was once asked “Why didn’t you wash your face today?” 😀

    August 11, 2011

Comments are closed.

